Slow-Cooker Chicken Mole

IMG_7359

My entire family LOVES Mexican food. I love it all but mole is my absolute favorite Mexican dish.  I can’t believe that I have never posted this fabulous recipe! I have made it several times- it must be the easiest mole to make- EVER. This recipe was adapted from Everyday Food. We ate it over brown basmati rice with cumin spiced sautéed kale with onions on the side.

  • Yield: Serves 8
  • 4 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs (about 12-15)
  • Coarse salt
  • 1 can (28 ounces) whole tomatoes
  • 1 medium yellow or 1 large sweet onion, roughly chopped
  • 2 dried ancho chiles, stemmed and seeded
  • 1 large chipotle chile in adobo sauce
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds, toasted (425 degree oven for 2-3 minutes)
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 3 ounces bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped (1/2 cup) (I used Trader Joe’s 72% Dark Chocolate)
  • 3 garlic cloves, smashed and peeled
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • Fresh cilantro leaves, for serving
  • rice, sour cream, avocado for serving, optional (I used brown basmati rice)
  1. Season chicken thighs with salt and place in a 5-to-6-quart slow cooker. In a blender, puree tomatoes, onion, ancho and chipotle chiles, almonds, raisins, chocolate, garlic, oil, cumin, and cinnamon until smooth.
  2. Add tomato mixture to slow cooker, cover, and cook on high until chicken is tender, 4 hours (or 8 hours on low). Adjust seasoning if necessary. Serve chicken and sauce over rice topped with cilantro, avocado, and/or sour cream, if desired.

IMG_7347

One Year Ago:

If you like this you may also like:

About thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, and Martha Stewart Living.

6 responses to “Slow-Cooker Chicken Mole

  1. Yum:) Would love to give this a try but I haven’t seen the two varieties of chilli you mentioned. Do you have any recommendations of what other chillis would work best?

    • Chipotle chilis are easy to find- they are canned smoked (dried) jalapeños in adobo sauce- usually in the Mexican section of the grocery store. This type of mole really needs ancho chilies– they are dried poblano chilies. (sometimes they are incorrectly labeled poblanos even though they are dried) I got mine at Whole Foods in the produce section. Good Luck!

  2. I’m afraid I under utilize my crock pot, but I’ll dig it out for this recipe. Sounds marvelous (and easy like you said!) and looks absolutely delicious. I’m so glad you posted this! I love the idea of the kale with it, too!

    • Mole is one of my absolute favorites!! This was such a wonderful & quick version- please let me know what you think!

      • I have a question – how prominent is the cinnamon flavor in this? I’m curious because I have a little thing about it; for some reason cinnamon always tastes strong to me. Normally, I’d add a bit less and then adjust, but it would be hard to do in this recipe. I suspect it’s probably not very noticeable with all the other spices!

      • I would say that it’s not that noticeable- you could probably just omit it if you have a little thing about it! :)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Community

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

Recipe Categories

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 400 other followers

