Cherry Tomato Tart with Basil


One of my favorite recipe resources is Food and Wine Magazine. Of course, I first choose a recipe by what appeals to me, but then I check to see if it is listed as a Staff Favorite by the magazine. It seems like an insurance policy that a recipe isn’t mediocre. I can’t remember ever being disappointed.

In August and September, we get the sweetest orange cherry tomatoes in my weekly farm share. This tart showcases cherry tomatoes- it practically has no other ingredients. But because I needed so many to fill the tart, I had to add in some Costco cherry tomatoes as well! This recipe was described as an appetizer in Food and Wine, but we ate huge pieces of it for dinner with a big green salad. It was simple, pretty, sweet, and very good.

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • Salt
  • 7 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cubed
  • 1/2 cup cold heavy cream
  • 2 pints cherry or grape tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoons shredded basil leaves
  1. Butter a 9-inch tart pan with a removable bottom. In a food processor, pulse the flour with a pinch of salt and the butter until the mixture resembles coarse meal. Add the cream and pulse until the dough nearly comes together. Turn the dough out onto a floured work surface and knead a few times. Cover and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes or overnight.
  2. Preheat the oven to 325°. Roll out the dough to a 14-inch round. Press the round into the tart pan; trim off any excess. Mound the tomatoes in the shell. Bake for about 1 hour and 40 minutes, until the dough is evenly browned. Let cool. Season with salt, garnish with the basil and serve.
About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,023 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
