Tomatillo Chicken

Tomatillos have one of my favorite flavors.  I use tomatillo salsa in my guacamole, and Enchiladas Verdes is one of my absolute favorite Mexican dishes.  This recipe has the flavors of my favorite sauces in a quick, everyday dish. This recipe is from Everyday Food.  I substituted 3-4 pounds of boneless, skinless chicken thighs for the whole chicken.  I served this dish with brown basmati rice.

  • 2 pounds tomatillos (husks removed), washed and halved
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 whole chicken (3 to 4 pounds), cut into 10 pieces (wings reserved for another use) or 3-4 pound boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 2 jalapenos, chopped
  • 1/2 medium white onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 1 can (15 ounces) hominy (optional), drained
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh, cilantro
  1. In a food processor, puree tomatillos; set aside. In a large Dutch oven or heavy pot, heat oil over medium-high. Season chicken with salt and pepper and add to pot, skin side down. Cook until browned on one side, 6 minutes. Transfer to a plate.
  2. Add jalapenos and onion to pot and cook, stirring frequently, until slightly softened, 3 to 5 minutes. Add garlic and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute. Stir in tomatillo puree and hominy, if using; season with salt and pepper. Nestle chicken, skin side up, in sauce. Cover pot; simmer until chicken is cooked through, 22 to 25 minutes. Stir in cilantro; season with salt and pepper.
About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,023 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
