French Onion Soup

IMG_2563

I love French Onion Soup. I always use this recipe from Vegetarian Cooking: Exciting Ideas for Delicious Meals published by Crescent Books. It was one of my first cookbooks -given to me by a co-worker when I started becoming interested in cooking. I like this recipe because it is simple, doesn’t use any alcohol, and because the cheese doesn’t have to be melted under the broiler. Before I had broiler-proof bowls, I would lightly toast a slice of baguette and cover it with shredded cheese in the bowl. When covered with hot soup, the cheese melts- delicious. I use homemade turkey stock, and substitute gruyere cheese for the cheddar and parmesan. I also always double the recipe!

Yield: Serves 4

  • 3 medium onions (I use sweet onions)
  • 4 T butter
  • 2 T all-purpose flour
  • 4 1/3 cups vegetable (or poultry) stock
  • salt and pepper
  • 4 slices French Bread, cut crosswise
  • 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, grated
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
  1. Slice the onions very finely into rings.
  2. Melt the butter in a heavy-bottomed pot, add the onion rings and fry over medium heat until well browned. (The onions must be very well browned, as this gives the rich color to the soup.)
  3. Mix in the flour and stir well until browned.
  4. Add the stock and seasoning, bring to a boil and simmer for 30 minutes.
  5. Toast the bread on both sides.
  6. Combine the cheeses, and spread over the bread slices; broil until golden brown.
  7. Place the slices of bread and cheese in the bottom of individual soup dishes and spoon the soup over the top.

french onion soup

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 958 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
