Smoky Butternut Squash Soup

FW Smoky Butternut Squash Soup

When I was searching for an alternative to Butternut Squash Apple soup, I found this Food and Wine “staff favorite” recipe. I tried it because I LOVE anything with chipotle chilies. I used homemade turkey stock which may have overwhelmed this dish- I would use chicken stock next time. The soup has some heat from the chipotle, but it is cooled down with the addition of creme fraiche, sour cream or greek yogurt.

  • ACTIVE: 30 MIN
  • TOTAL TIME: 1 HR
  • SERVINGS: 8
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • One 3-pound butternut squash, peeled and diced (8 cups)
  • 1 small canned chipotle in adobo, chopped
  • 7 cups chicken or turkey stock or low-sodium broth
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • Salt
  • 1 cup crème fraîche (sour cream or greek yogurt)
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped chives, plus more for garnish
  1. In a large pot, melt the butter. Add the onion and cook over moderate heat until softened. Stir in the squash and chipotle and cook for 1 minute. Add the stock and honey and bring to a boil. Simmer until the squash is tender, about 30 minutes.
  2. Puree the soup until smooth; season with salt.
  3. In a small microwave-safe bowl, stir the crème fraîche with the 1/4 cup of chives. Microwave until just melted, 30 seconds. Serve the soup with a swirl of chive cream and a sprinkling of chives.
About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 997 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
