Mushroom, Red Onion, & Bacon Quesadillas

IMG_2588

My husband really wanted to have quesadillas for the Super Bowl this year. My daughter had a plain cheese quesadilla, and the rest of us had mushroom and red onion- with bacon. I used a mixture of pepper jack and Monterey Jack cheeses, and made them on whole wheat handmade tortillas from Trader Joe’s (my favorite). I have great success cooking them on our cast iron panini press, preheated on low, and I served them with brown basmati rice, refried beans, and avocado slices. This recipe is from Martha Stewart Living- I just added the bacon (optional).

Sautéed Mushroom Filling with Epazote

Yield: Makes about 2 1/2 cups

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 cup finely diced red onion (1 small onion)
  • 1 pound white button mushrooms, stems trimmed, thinly sliced
  • 1 tsp epazote or dried oregano
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 4 slices cooked bacon, crumbled (optional)
  1. Heat a sauté pan over medium-low heat; add olive oil. When hot, add onion; sauté until translucent, about 5 minutes.
  2. Add mushrooms and epazote; cook until mushrooms are tender and most of the liquid has evaporated, about 5 minutes. Add lemon juice, season with salt and pepper.
  3. Pair with queso fresco, Monterey Jack, and guacamole.
About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,024 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
