Spicy Lentil Chili

Spicy Lentil Chili

This vegetarian chili is loaded with vegetables. After chopping my eggplant, I realized that I needed to double the recipe. I doubled all of the ingredients with the exception of using only 1.5 times the diced tomatoes. I have made it with brown lentils in the past, so this time I used red lentils. Red lentils give this dish a different texture because unlike brown or green lentils, they don’t retain their firmness. I would have made this dish even spicier– but then my 8 year old wouldn’t have eaten it! We had corn muffins on the side. This recipe is from Bon Appetit.

  • 3 T olive oil
  • 2 cups finely chopped carrots
  • 2 cups finely chopped zucchini
  • 2 cups finely chopped unpeeled eggplant
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped onion
  • 1 1/2 T chopped, seeded jalapeño chili
  • 1 T finely chopped garlic
  • 5 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 1/2 T ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 28-ounce cans diced tomatoes in juice
  • 2 1/2 cups chicken stock, canned low-salt chicken broth or canned vegetable broth
  • 1 1/2 cups red or brown lentils
  1. Heat oil in heavy large pot over medium heat. Add carrots, zucchini, eggplant, onion, jalapeño, and garlic and sauté until almost tender, about 5 minutes.
  2. Add oregano, cumin, cayenne pepper and bay leaf and stir until fragrant, about 30 seconds.
  3. Add tomatoes with juices, stock and lentils; bring to a boil.
  4. Reduce heat; simmer uncovered until lentils and vegetables are tender, about 40 minutes.
  5. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Spicy Lentil Chili Veggies

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

2 responses to “Spicy Lentil Chili

  1. Noah

    Where’s the beef!?!?!?!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 997 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
