Shrimp in Spiced Tomato Sauce

Shrimp in spiced tomato sauce

The other night, I needed a quick dinner that I could make from pantry items (due to poor planning…..) so I paged through several past issues of Everyday Food. This recipe was perfect and I had all of the ingredients. We ate it with a green salad and Israeli couscous on the side (see related post). When we were finished with dinner, I saw my nicely chopped cilantro garnish on the cutting board. Oops. I am famous for forgetting to garnish- I usually write myself a note to remember to put it on! It was still good without it, just maybe not as pretty.

  • Yield: 4 servings
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium white onion, cut into medium dice
  • 1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons minced peeled fresh ginger (from a 1-inch piece)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground coriander
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest
  • 1 can (28 ounces) whole peeled tomatoes
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1 pound large frozen raw shrimp (peeled and deveined)
  • Chopped cilantro, for serving
  • Couscous (optional), for serving
  1. In a medium saucepan, heat oil over medium. Add onion and ginger; cook until onion is softened, about 3 minutes. Add coriander, cayenne, and lemon zest; cook, stirring frequently, until fragrant, about 2 minutes.
  2. Add tomatoes, breaking them up as you go. Bring mixture to a boil; reduce to a simmer and cook 10 minutes. Season tomato sauce with salt and pepper.
  3. Bring sauce to a simmer over medium-high; add shrimp. Cook until sauce is hot and shrimp are opaque throughout, about 3 minutes. Serve sprinkled with cilantro, with couscous alongside if desired.
About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 967 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
