Baked Eggs with Arugula, Yogurt & Chili

IMG_3725

My first Golden Earthworm CSA share of the season was delivered this week with a HUGE bunch of gorgeous arugula. Arugula is probably my favorite item in my box. So exciting! 🙂

This recipe for baked eggs with sautéed arugula was posted on the Golden Earthworm Organic Farm website, from Ottolenghi’s ‘Plenty’  cookbook. Because I LOVE sauces, I wanted to try it– even though it meant cooking my arugula (we usually eat it raw) and using all of my arugula for one meal! This dish has garlicky yogurt and chili-paprika-sage butter “sauces”. I modified it (below) by using more garlic and less butter and sage. It was a quick dinner with unusual flavors.

Serves 2

  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 bunch Arugula
  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1/2 tsp kirmizi biber* (or a mix of 1/4 tsp chili flakes + 1/4 tsp sweet paprika)
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 4 sage leaves, shredded
  • salt and freshly ground pepper
  1. Preheat the oven to 300°F.
  2. Place the rocket and olive oil in a large pan and sprinkle over a little salt. Sauté on a medium heat for a few minutes, until the rocket wilts and most of the liquid has evaporated.
  3. Transfer to a small baking dish (or leave in the pan, if ovenproof) and make four deep indentations in the cooked rocket. Carefully break an egg into each hollow, lightly season with salt and pepper, then place in the preheated oven to cook for 10-15 minutes, or until whites are set. IMG_3714
  4. While the eggs are baking make your garlic yogurt and chili butter. First, stir the garlic through the yoghurt and season generously with salt. Set aside.
  5. In a small saucepan, melt the butter then add a pinch of salt and the kirmizi biber (or chilli flakes and paprika) and fry for a couple of minutes until the butter starts to foam and take on a golden red hue. Add the sage and cook for a few more seconds. Remove from heat. IMG_3717
  6. When your eggs are ready to your liking, take them out of the oven. Spoon on a large dollop of garlicky yogurt and pour over the hot chili butter. Serve immediately.

* a spice with a sweet aroma and varying levels of spiciness, can be found in Turkish grocers

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

12 responses to “Baked Eggs with Arugula, Yogurt & Chili

  1. this looks delicious! actually, it’s difficult to go wrong with eggs.

  2. Liz

    I need some egg recipes to add to my “egg repertoire”. This sounds and looks delicious. I have bookmarked this and others for trial. Thanks for visiting me so many times, i have lost count but I appreciate each and every visit!! Have a lovely weekend!

    • I made scrambled egg tacos and huevos rancheros recently– it seems we have been having a lot of quick EGG meals for dinner lately…. Enjoy! Have a great weekend too!

  3. Yum! At first I was baffled as to what argula is but after a quick search I was like ‘oh rocket’ 😉 Same thing, different name;)

  4. Love your collection of recipes and thanks for liking my muffin recipe too!

  5. Ronit Penso

    Like Ottolenghi, I also grew up in Israel and this dish brought back some very tasty memories.:-)

    It’s been a while since I’ve made eggs baked in yogurt. We used to make it without the arugula, but it sounds like a great idea. Will give it a try soon. Thanks!

    • It’s funny because I was drawn to the recipe because of the arugula! I hope that you enjoy it. Thanks for the follow!

      • Ronit Penso

        In Jerusalem it’s more common to use spinach for this dish, and mint instead of sage. Yet this version sounds just as tasty. I hope to give it a try soon. 🙂

  6. It would be easy to substitute spinach for arugula in this dish too- sounds GREAT!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 917 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
