Whole Wheat Banana-Chocolate Chip Muffins

IMG_9215

The other night, I distracted myself from the torrential downpour outside by perusing some of my favorite food blogs. I found a quick recipe for Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins on My Favourite Pastime. They looked so tasty that I sent the author a note! She told me that they could be made in 20 minutes and encouraged me to make them right away. 🙂 Done! I modified the recipe by using 4 oz of whole wheat flour (because that is what I do), and a combination of milk chocolate and semi-sweet chocolate chips (because I didn’t have any white chocolate chips). I baked them for 17 minutes at 375 degrees in a convection oven. Everyone loved them. Another great use for super-ripe bananas!

  • 250g (2 cups, 9oz) all-purpose flour (**I used 4 oz whole wheat flour & 5 oz all-purpose)
  • 5ml (1 teaspoon) baking powder
  • 5 ml (1 teaspoon) baking soda (bicarbonate of soda)
  • ½ teaspoon coarse salt
  • 150g ( cup, 5½oz) sugar
  • 100 g (1/2 cup, 40z) chocolate chips (bits)
  • 2 eggs
  • 375 g (1½ cups) mashed banana (=3 large bananas)
  • 125 g (½ cup, 4 oz, 1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 60 ml (¼ cup, 2 fl oz) buttermilk
  1. Preheat oven to 375°F (190°C). Brush a 12-hole, medium, muffin tin (pan) with melted butter or oil, or spray with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. Sift or whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Add sugar and chocolate chips. Mix thoroughly and make a well in the center.
  3. Beat eggs, mashed banana, melted butter and buttermilk until thoroughly mixed. Add banana mixture to the well, stir until combined (do not over mix).
  4. Spoon mixture (I used a cookie scoop.) evenly into prepared tin and bake at 375 (190°c) for 17 minutes on convection or up to 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center of the muffins comes out clean.

Note: 1/2 a recipe (& using mini chocolate chips) makes 24 mini muffins (bake for 10-12 minutes). A perfect snack!

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

2 responses to “Whole Wheat Banana-Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins | My Favourite Pastime

  2. Liz

    Thanks so much for trying out the muffins and I am so glad everybody liked them. We make them at least once a week and sometimes we also add some wholewheat flour. I am glad my blog inspired you to bake the muffins. You’ve made my day. I shall be browsing to see if I can also bake from here….Have a wonderful week.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,042 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
