Father’s Day Double Cookie Dough Ice Cream

IMG_3875

Now that my body has finally recovered from my husband’s birthday cheesecake (We HAD to eat it all! 🙂 ….) it is time for a special Father’s Day dessert. My husband is a cookie dough ice cream guy. I saw this recipe all over the blogosphere– DOUBLE cookie dough ice cream. The ice cream is cookie dough flavored– with the help of browned butter and brown sugar- and then cookie dough chunks and chocolate chips are incorporated into the ice cream after it has been churned. YUM! The recipe is from Annie’s Eats; ice cream recipe adapted from Joy the Baker and cookie dough recipe originally from The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz. In order to chill the ice cream base quickly, I place the bowl in an ice bath and stir intermittently until chilled. I also always place plastic wrap over the entire surface of the ice cream before freezing to prevent ice formation. Delicious! Happy Father’s Day!

For the cookie dough:

  • 5 tbsp. salted butter, melted (or unsalted butter plus 1/4 tsp. salt)
  • 1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

For the ice cream:

  • 3 tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 2/3 cup dark brown sugar
  • 4 large egg yolks
  • Pinch of coarse salt
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups whole milk
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (semisweet or bittersweet) (or to taste– I would add less next time!)
  1. To make the cookie dough, stir together the butter and sugar in a mixing bowl until smooth. Mix in the flour, then the vanilla and chocolate chips. Form the dough into a disk, wrap in plastic wrap, and refrigerate until firm.
  2. To make the ice cream, melt the butter in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Continue heating, stirring often, until the butter is a deep golden brown color, being careful not to burn it. Whisk in the heavy cream and heat until simmering. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, whisk together the brown sugar and egg yolks until pale and fluffy. Once the cream mixture is warm, add a small amount to the bowl with the egg yolks, whisking constantly. Slowly whisk in the rest of the cream. Mix in the salt. Return the egg-cream mixture to the saucepan and heat until just slightly thickened, and the temperature reads 170-175 degrees F on an instant-read thermometer. Immediately remove the mixture from the heat and pour through a fine mesh sieve into a bowl. Stir in the vanilla extract and the whole milk. Cover and chill thoroughly in the refrigerator. (This process can be expedited by placing the bowl in an ice bath and stirring intermittently until chilled.)IMG_3825
  3. Once the mixture is chilled, freeze in an ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Chop the disk of cookie dough into small chunks. As soon as the mixture is done churning, transfer to a bowl or airtight container, folding in the chocolate chips and the chunks of cookie dough. Cover the surface of the ice cream with plastic wrap. Store in an airtight container in the freezer until firm.

IMG_3878

 

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

3 responses to “Father’s Day Double Cookie Dough Ice Cream

  1. I love cookie dough, but it’s not very popular here in Italy… I use to get it all the time when I lived in the UK, soo yummy it would disappear in one evening! 😛 Now I can try making it myself! 😀

    • My husband really enjoyed this ice cream! I would have preferred it without all of the additional chocolate chips and would reduce the amount next time, probably in half. The cookie dough ice cream base would be delicious by itself! I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

      • Thank you, I will let you know when I try it 🙂 although, I have a thing for chocolate and would probably leave some, but I agree with you to have not so much in order to enjoy the dough base at its best! Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 983 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
