Summer Vegetable & Nectarine “Ceviche”

IMG_1365

I have difficulty coming up with interesting side dishes. When a friend asked us to come over for dinner the other night, she asked me to bring a side and I was stumped. Ridiculous. I told her that I would come up with something…. and then she asked me if I had received my Food & Wine magazine that same day– the dish featured on the cover looked tasty. 🙂 It looked gorgeous! Done. The results were bright and DELICIOUS. This recipe was adapted from Food and Wine, contributed by David Frenkiel and Luise Vindahl of greenkitchenstories.com. I started following their blog!

  • 1 cup fresh baby lima beans or frozen edamame
  • 1 teaspoon finely grated lime zest
  • 1/3 cup fresh lime juice
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 scallion, thinly sliced
  • 1 jalapeño, seeded and thinly sliced
  • 1 small shallot, thinly sliced
  • coarse salt
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh corn kernels (from 2 ears)
  • 2 nectarines, cut into thin wedges
  • 1 Hass avocado, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 1 large orange bell pepper, finely julienned
  • 1 pint heirloom cherry tomatoes, halved or grape tomatoes, quartered
  • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped cilantro
  1. In a small saucepan of salted boiling water, cook the lima beans until tender, about 10 minutes. (I cooked the edamame for 5 minutes.) Drain the beans and rinse under cold water.
  2. In a mini food processor, combine the the lime zest and juice with the olive oil, jalapeño and shallot; season the dressing with salt. Gently fold in the lima beans/edamame, corn, nectarines, avocado,  scallion, pepper and tomatoes. Refrigerate the “ceviche” for at least 2 hours. Fold in the cilantro just before serving and serve the “ceviche” chilled.
MAKE AHEAD: The salad can be refrigerated for up to 8 hours.
IMG_4142
About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

7 responses to “Summer Vegetable & Nectarine “Ceviche”

  1. Noah

    What gall!! A friend asks you to bring a side and then tells you which one?!? But it was delicious……..;)

  2. Noah

    Haha. The brook cook knows how to be a good guest😏

  3. Chantal Anderson

    Really delicious. Fresh vegetables. Great with chips or on your salad -no need for dressing. Try it you’ll like it. Very healthy.

  4. Ha ha We take inspiration anywhere we can get it so why not nudge our friends to try out a recipe and bring it over for dinner. Love it. This salad is right up my alley. Be well, Tracey

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,012 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
