Biscoff Crunch & Swirl Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

IMG_4214

This might be the best ice cream I’ve ever made – it might be the best ice cream I’ve ever eaten! I have always loved the little brown cookies that the flight attendants serve on an airplane- Biscoff- the airline cookie. I have never remembered what they were called- I never knew that you could buy them! Then I saw a recipe for Biscoff Crunch Ice Cream on Annie’s Cooking Lab. YUM. Fairly soon after spotting the recipe, I saw Biscoff cookies at Costco. (Wow!) I still thought that I would never find Biscoff Spread outside of Europe– then I spotted it at the local grocery store. Yea! I adapted the recipe by putting the Biscoff swirl and crunch in my favorite vanilla bean ice cream. The vanilla bean ice cream base recipe is from Food and Wine, contributed by Jeni Britton. The Biscoff swirl and crunch recipe is from Annie’s Cooking Lab. FABULOUS.

  • ACTIVE: 20 MIN
  • TOTAL TIME: 1 HR 20 MIN PLUS 4 HR FREEZING
  • SERVINGS: MAKES 3 1/2 CUPS
For the Vanilla Bean Ice Cream:
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1 1/2 ounces cream cheese, softened (3 tablespoons)
  • 1 1/4 cups heavy cream
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons light corn syrup
  • 1 vanilla bean, split and seeds scraped
  • 1/8 teaspoon kosher salt

For the Biscoff Crunch and Swirl:

  • 3/4 package Biscoff Cookies (about 25 cookies)
  • 1/2 cup creamy Biscoff Spread
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 2 tbl. light corn syrup
  1. To make the Biscoff swirl, scoop the Biscoff Spread into small saucepan and place over medium-low heat. Add the cream and corn syrup and stir until combined. Cover and refrigerate for several hours.
  2. Fill a large bowl with ice water. In a small bowl, mix 2 tablespoons of the milk with the cornstarch. In another large bowl, whisk the cream cheese until smooth.
  3. In a large saucepan, combine the remaining milk with the heavy cream, sugar, corn syrup and vanilla bean and seeds. Bring the milk mixture to a boil and cook over moderate heat until the sugar dissolves and the vanilla flavors the milk, about 4 minutes. Off the heat, gradually whisk in the cornstarch mixture. Return to a boil and cook over moderately high heat until the mixture is slightly thickened, about 1 minute.
  4. Gradually whisk the hot milk mixture into the cream cheese until smooth. Whisk in the salt. Set the bowl in the ice water bath and let stand, stirring occasionally, until cold, about 20 minutes.
  5. Strain the ice cream base into an ice cream maker and freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions.
  6. Once the ice cream is chilled, stir in the Biscoff cookie pieces. Place a spoonful of ice cream in a plastic container, spread some of the Biscoff swirl mixture over the top. Repeat the layers, finishing with ice cream on top. Pack the ice cream into a plastic container.
  7. Press a sheet of plastic wrap directly onto the surface of the ice cream and close with an airtight lid. Freeze the ice cream until firm, about 4 hours.
IMG_4211
About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

5 responses to “Biscoff Crunch & Swirl Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

  1. That looks great! I’ve never seen an ice cream recipe with cornstarch, it sounds really good with the cream cheese too, but I bet it’s super creamy!

  2. Denise A

    Today is a bittersweet day – we finished off the last of our Biscoff Crunch and Swirl Vanilla Bean ice cream! OMG – this ice cream was so good, it ruined all other ice creams for us. How do you top this? Thank you for this fantastic recipe! Can’t wait to make my next batch 🙂

    • I am so happy that you made it & loved it as much as we did. Thanks for following my blog too!! 🙂 I love that you have tried so many recipes in such a short time- you are the best!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 919 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
