Gazpacho

The weather has been unbearably HOT. Gazpacho is the most refreshing soup to eat on a hot summer day. I feel so healthy eating it! It is so FRESH and COLD. It’s perfect as an appetizer, lunch, or light dinner.

I prefer to keep the vegetables chunky, but sometimes I will (almost) puree half of the soup in a food processor and then combine it with the chunky half. This recipe was adapted from my gold standard vegetarian cookbook, The Moosewood Cookbook by Mollie Katzen. I had CSA scallions and cippolini onions to add this time. I think that it tastes the best when it is made a day ahead of time.

Yield: 6 servings

  • 4 cups tomato juice (I use low-sodium Trader Joe’s Garden Patch vegetable juice)
  • 1 sweet onion, finely minced
  • 1 medium clove garlic, minced
  • 1 medium green bell pepper, minced
  • 1 medium red, yellow, or orange bell pepper, minced
  • 1 medium cucumber, peeled, seeded, & minced (I use an unpeeled seedless English cucumber)
  • 2 cups freshly diced tomatoes (a combination of Campari and grape tomatoes is nice)
  • 2 scallions, minced or thinly sliced
  • juice of 1/2 lemon & 1 lime
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 2 T red wine vinegar
  • 2 T fresh basil, chopped
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped
  • 3 T extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • Sriracha, Cholula, or cayenne pepper, to taste
  1. Combine all ingredients. OPTIONAL: Puree all or some.
  2. Chill until very cold. (at least 2 hours, preferably overnight)
About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

2 responses to “Gazpacho

  1. Will surely try this! Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 931 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
