Raspberry Cocktail

IMG_4351

This cocktail caught my eye- I love raspberries and it was suggested to try it for an afternoon cocktail poolside. (nice image!) 🙂 We had family visiting and it was the perfect time to try a new cocktail too. This recipe was adapted from The Book of Great Breakfasts and Brunches by Terence Janericco, via CHOW.com. While the raspberries were macerating there was some concern that the drink was going to be too potent- we shouldn’t have worried. It has a nice balance between the fresh fruit and gin. I used agave nectar instead of simple syrup and Cointreau instead of Kirsch. It’s such a special summer cocktail! A treat.

Total Time: 15 mins, plus 2 hrs macerating time
Makes: 4 to 6 drinks

  • 1 cup fresh raspberries, plus additional raspberries for garnish
  • 6 ounces gin
  • 8 ounces dry white wine
  • 1 ounce freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 1 ounce agave nectar or simple syrup
  • 1/2 ounce Cointreau or Kirsch
  • 8 ice cubes
  1. Lightly mash 1 cup of the raspberries in a bowl. Pour in the gin and let macerate at room temperature for 2 hours. Place the raspberries and gin in a blender and blend until smooth, about 20 seconds. Place a fine-mesh strainer over a medium bowl and strain the mixture. Discard the solids.
  2. Rinse the blender and add the raspberry mixture, wine, lime juice, agave nectar, Cointreau, and ice cubes. Blend until the ice is crushed, about 10 seconds. Pour into 6 cocktail glasses and add a fresh raspberry to each glass.
About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

10 responses to “Raspberry Cocktail

  1. Mom

    Hi, Josette! This cocktail sounds delicious! We will have to try it.
    Love, mom

  2. May I use your photo? I have my own cocktail recipe that ends up looking like this and I want to pin it but don’t have a photo to use – thanks

  3. Lisa Romersa

    Can you use vodka instead of Gin? Looks delicious either way I will make it but I think I am more of a vodka person 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,024 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
