Giant Lemonade-Watermelon “Ice” Cubes

IMG_4417

An article in the New York Times sparked this idea- but this was a much simpler take on the refreshing thought of frozen pureed watermelon. My only ice-cube tray has HUGE wells, so I made HUGE lemonade-watermelon ice cubes! We put them in seltzer water and in lemonade. The giant ice cubes took such a long time to melt that they kept the drinks nice and cold. Nice on a hot day. Slushy when melted. πŸ™‚

  • 5 cups cubed watermelon
  • 1 cup lemonade Β (simple syrup could also be used)

In a blender, puree the watermelon and lemonade. Freeze until firm. Enjoy in lemonade or seltzer.

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

10 responses to “Giant Lemonade-Watermelon “Ice” Cubes

  1. I love this idea! So refreshing! I’m sure my son would think it’s so cool as wel.
    Sophia πŸ™‚

  2. Urgh, that should read *well*.
    Have a great day!

  3. That sounds like a great idea!!

  4. Liz

    The giant lemonade looks delicious!
    The WordPress like system is not working so I can’t like your post using the like button, but I can say I like it. Thanks and have a wonderful weekend!

  5. How fun.. It is totally doable by the kids. I am going to reblog it under cooking with kids :).

  6. Reblogged this on Cooking with Kids and commented:
    A great fun recipe with watermelons πŸ™‚

  7. So simple but such a great idea! The watermelon I got Friday was gone in 5 seconds. In my defense, it was only a little bigger than a softball. Need to get some more and try this!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 997 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
