Ice Box Buttermilk Salad Dressing

IMG_4464

We have mustard vinaigrette on our salad VERY OFTEN but my husband is actually a creamy salad dressing kind of guy. This is his favorite dressing. I usually make it in the summer when I have all sorts of fresh herbs available. It is really flavorful- and creamy. This recipe was adapted from Back to the Table: The Reunion of Food and Family by Art Smith.

  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup low-fat mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 2 T grainy mustard (I use whole grain dijon mustard)
  • 2 T red wine vinegar
  • 2 T rinsed capers
  • 2 T shallots, coarsely chopped
  • 2 tsp fresh oregano
  • 1 tsp fresh basil
  • 1 tsp fresh parsley or tarragon
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • salt and sriracha hot sauce, to taste
  1. Place capers, shallots, and herbs in a food processor. Process to a fine mince.
  2. Add all other ingredients and process to combine.
  3. Store in a jar and shake well to blend before serving.

Note: The dressing can be prepared up to 1 week ahead, covered, and refrigerated.

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

4 responses to “Ice Box Buttermilk Salad Dressing

  1. I love a mustard dressing, will give it a try!

  2. Like you, I usually have mustard vinaigrette on-hand in the fridge. A good creamy dressing, though, is a welcome change. Thanks for sharing a recipe I’m sure to try.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,023 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
