Warm Potatoes with Salsa Verde

IMG_4480
I used the huge bunches of basil and parsley from my CSA share to make salsa verde to dress the beautiful red and yellow potatoes also from my CSA share. I love perfect recipes. 🙂 This recipe was adapted from Everyday Food, via The Golden Earthworm Farm. We ate it as part of a lovely summer meal (outside by candlelight! ) with grilled eggplant sandwiches and coleslaw. The feta cheese in the sandwiches worked really well with these flavors. Perfect!

Yield: Makes 1 1/2 cups

  • 3 cups mixed fresh herbs, such as basil, parsley, and cilantro (I used basil and parsley)
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 2 teaspoons red wine vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons capers, rinsed and drained
  • 4 anchovy fillets
  • 3/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • small red or yellow potatoes, cut into bite-size pieces
  1. In a food processor, combine herbs, garlic, and vinegar;  then add capers and anchovy fillets. Pulse until coarsely chopped, 20 seconds. Transfer to a small bowl and stir in olive oil. Season with salt and pepper.
  2. Cook potatoes in salted, boiling water until tender, about 15 minutes.
  3. Combine warm potatoes with salsa verde, to taste. (I used about 1/4 cup for approximately 1 quart of potatoes.)
Ideas for Using Additional Salsa Verde:
– Toss with steamed beans.
– Mix with crumbled feta and serve on crostini or crackers.
– Spoon over thinly sliced grilled skirt steak.
– Drizzle on baked salmon or shrimp.
– Use as a sandwich spread.
– Stir into drained and rinsed canned black beans.
– Add to scrambled eggs on toast.
About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

3 responses to “Warm Potatoes with Salsa Verde

  1. Very refreshing. I just bought some red potatoes to oven roast.i am going to try your dressing with oven roasted potatoes :). Thanks or this timely post. I loved the idea of mixing the dressing with feta cheese and beans… Would be delicious:).

  2. Kerstin

    We loved having another way to make potato salad! I used fresh herbs from my garden and it was a real treat.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 958 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
