Fudge Pops!

IMG_4575

When I made these fudge pops for the first time I thought that they were the best “fudgsicles” I had ever had. This time I had the same experience. πŸ™‚ They taste like chocolate ice cream– but so easy to make!

A popular tourist destination in New York City is a restaurant named Serendipity– tons of people go there to eat frozen hot chocolate. Although I have never been, I think their special dish must taste just like these fudge pops. They are essentially frozen hot chocolate- cocoa, sugar, cream, and milk cooked and frozen. These are a much smaller, more waistline friendly version. DELICIOUS!!! I saved us a trip to the Upper East Side! πŸ™‚ This recipe was adapted from Everyday Food. Β I used half and half instead of milk and cream.

Yield: Makes 8 to 10 pops

  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 1/2 cups whole milk, divided
  • 1 1/3 cups heavy cream (or substitute equal amounts of half and half)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp coarse salt
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  1. In a 2-quart saucepan, whisk together cornstarch and 2 tablespoons milk until smooth.
  2. Whisk in remaining milk, cream, sugar, cocoa and salt. Bring to a boil over medium-high, stirring constantly, and cook 1 minute.
  3. Transfer to a large liquid-measuring cup and stir in vanilla.
  4. Pour into eight to ten ice-pop molds and insert ice-pop sticks.
  5. Freeze until pops are solid, about 6 hours (or up to 1 week). Just before serving, briefly run molds under hot water to release pops.
About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

6 responses to “Fudge Pops!

  1. Mari Allen

    Great color!!

    Date: Thu, 8 Aug 2013 15:56:16 +0000 To: allenmari@hotmail.com

  2. Teehee I am eating chocolate ice cream right now! These sound up my alley πŸ™‚ Love the pink pop sticks πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,054 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
