Cornmeal Summer Berry Muffins with Streusel Topping

IMG_4869

The first time I made these muffins I made several modifications to the recipe. I used buttermilk (with additional baking soda as well), some whole wheat flour, and lemon extract in the streusel topping; I also made 12 muffins instead of 10 (per the recipe) and the tops were still overflowing. They were not very good- edible, but just okay. I was really disappointed because they are described as the favorite muffin in a bakery cookbook that I really like.

After going blackberry and raspberry picking with my family, I decided to try to make them again. I usually say that streusel makes everything better, but in this case following the bakery recipe made everything better! πŸ™‚ The beautiful fresh berries were a bonus too. I did use 1 percent milk, vanilla instead of almond extract in the streusel, and I made 16 muffins instead of 10 (per the recipe). I didn’t even substitute any whole wheat flour- very hard for me not to do…. They were DELICIOUS! Perfect size too. This recipe was adapted from More from Macrina: New Favorites from Seattle’s Popular Neighborhood Bakery by Leslie Mackie with Lisa Gordanier. Corn flour could be used in the place of cornmeal, if available.

For the Streusel Topping:

  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 T medium-ground cornmeal
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 T chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/4 -inch pieces
  • 1/8 tsp vanilla extract or almond extract

For the Batter:

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 T medium-ground cornmeal
  • 1/4 cup plus 3 T granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp lemon zest (from about 1 large lemon)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup plus 2 T whole milk (1 percent is okay too)
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Β 1 1/2 cups assorted fresh berries halved (I used blackberries & raspberries)
  • 6 T (3/4 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  1. Position a rack in the Β center of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees. (I use a convection oven.) Grease 16 muffin cups with canola oil or cooking spray. Line with paper liners, if desired. Set aside.
  2. To make the streusel topping, combine the flours and sugar in a medium bowl. Cut the butter into the flour mixture with a fork or pastry cutter until the mixture has a coarse, crumbly texture. Add the vanilla or almond extract and mix for another 30 seconds. Set aside.
  3. To make the batter, sift together the flours, granulated and brown sugars, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl. Add the lemon zest and mix well.
  4. Whisk together the eggs, milk, and vanilla in a separate medium bowl.
  5. Working quickly and gently with a rubber spatula (overmixing can result in tough muffins), fold the egg mixture into the dry ingredients in 3 additions. With the last addition, add the berries.
  6. Add the melted butter by pouring it in a stream, creating a circle on the top of the batter. Continue to fold gently until the butter is just incorporated. (Some of the dry ingredients may not be fully absorbed.)
  7. Let the batter sit for 4-5 minutes before dividing; it will thicken up and be easier to scoop.
  8. Divide the batter among 16 muffin cups. Sprinkle each muffin generously with streusel topping.
  9. Bake for 18 minutes (on convection), or until the muffins are golden brown on top and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool in the pan for 5-10 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Note: These are best eaten the day they are made, but they can also be wrapped securely and kept in the freezer for up to 2 weeks. To serve, thaw them and reheat in a 325 degree oven for about 8 minutes.

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

7 responses to “Cornmeal Summer Berry Muffins with Streusel Topping

  1. Can’t resist berries! You must be so busy in the kitchen as you are on a roll with posting the recipes. They always look fab too and I love seeing them pop up in my reader πŸ™‚

    • We went blackberry, raspberry AND peach picking on the same day! I have been frantic cooking (& eating) all of the beautiful fruit to make sure that none of it goes to waste. πŸ™‚ Very busy in the kitchen!

  2. Mari Allen

    These look amazing!!

    Date: Thu, 22 Aug 2013 12:10:36 +0000 To: allenmari@hotmail.com

  3. Looks delicious! I have some similar muffins that I’ll be posting next week. Blueberries rather than mixed berries and I used a little whole wheat flour and oatmeal to make them slightly healthy (though I think the crumble zeros that out). I so rarely cook with cornmeal, unless dusting a pizza. I need to expand more–thanks for the great recipe!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,046 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
