White Peach & Raspberry Cobbler with Butter Biscuits

IMG_4924

Did I mention that my family went peach, raspberry & blackberry picking? 🙂 It was difficult for me to decide to make with all of the goods (besides jam, of course!), but my husband wanted COBBLER! Then it was difficult to pick the recipe…I have made this in the past and enjoyed it, it used a combination of two of my fresh fruits and sounded great- so, the decision was made. I don’t bother peeling peaches for a cobbler- it is such a rustic dessert. This recipe was adapted from Bill Neal’s Southern Cooking.

For the Fruit:

  • 8 large peaches, peeled (if desired), & sliced (I used white peaches)
  • 2 cups raspberries
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 T flour
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon

IMG_4949

For the Biscuits:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 3 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 T sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 6 T unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup whipping cream
  • Flour, sugar
  • Vanilla ice cream, for serving
  1. For fruit, combine peaches, raspberries, sugar, flour and cinnamon in large mixing bowl; pour into greased 13 x 9-inch baking dish. (I skip a step and combine everything in the greased baking dish.) Set aside. Heat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. For biscuits, mix flour, baking powder, 1 T sugar and salt in medium bowl. Cut butter into flour mixture with pastry blender. Stir in milk and cream until just combined (don’t over mix); turn onto floured surface.
  3. Gently knead dough and roll or pat to 1/2-inch thick. Cut into circles or other shapes with biscuit cutter; place biscuits on top of fruit. Sprinkle biscuits with sugar.
  4. Bake 25 to 30 minutes, or until biscuits are lightly browned. Serve with ice cream.

IMG_4834

IMG_4820

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,014 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
