Alton Brown’s Basic Waffles with Blueberries

I haven’t watched his show in YEARS but…. I love Alton Brown! He is nerdy, quirky, and informative. These are terrific waffles. I adore waffles but because I have been muffin-baking-crazy lately we haven’t had any in ages. We ate these for a special Labor Day breakfast. My kids are going back to school in a week and we need to load up on special breakfasts!! 🙂

Weighing the flour makes them PERFECT. They are also always perfect because I make them in my grandparents’ cloth corded waffle iron– the best. After removing them from the waffle iron, I cool them briefly on a wire rack to release moisture so that they do not become soggy; then I cut them into individual waffles and keep them in a warming drawer until ready to serve.

I have modified Alton Brown’s recipe by adding 2 cups of fresh blueberries or frozen wild blueberries. I either use whole wheat flour or whole wheat pastry flour as well. We ate them topped with super-ripe banana slices and pure maple syrup. DELICIOUS!!!

  • 4 3/4 ounces all-purpose flour, approximately 1 cup
  • 4 3/4 ounces whole-wheat flour or whole-wheat pastry flour, approximately 1 cup
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 3 large eggs, beaten
  • 2 ounces unsalted butter, melted
  • 16 ounces buttermilk, room temperature
  • 2 cups frozen wild blueberries or fresh blueberries
  • Vegetable spray, for waffle iron
  1. Preheat waffle iron while making the batter.
  2. In a medium bowl whisk together the flours, soda, baking powder, salt, and sugar.
  3. In another bowl beat together eggs and melted butter, and then add the buttermilk. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until combined. Fold in blueberries. Allow to rest for 5 minutes.
  4. Spray the top and bottom surfaces of the waffle iron with cooking spray. Ladle the waffle batter onto the iron. Close iron top and cook until the waffle is golden on both sides and is easily removed from iron, approximately 5 to 6 minutes.
  5. Serve immediately or briefly cool on a wire rack and then keep warm in a warming drawer or 200 degree oven until ready to serve. Top with pure maple syrup.

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

4 responses to “Alton Brown’s Basic Waffles with Blueberries

  1. Nom nom nom ! These sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
