Easy Peach Cobbler

IMG_5223

I have made this dessert every summer for over 15 years! It is simple, easy and wonderful. The method is unlike any other cobbler I have made.  First, the batter is poured over melted butter in a baking dish. Then the unpeeled peach slices are cooked in sugar and lemon juice after which they are layered on top of the batter. As the cobbler bakes, the batter rises and envelopes the peaches.

IMG_5206

I add more peaches than stated in the recipe because I can’t help myself. 🙂 I bought TONS of peaches at our farm stand because they were so gorgeous!! We were eating even more peaches while I was putting these ingredients together. The recipe calls for 4 cups of sliced peaches and I used 5 large (gigantic) yellow peaches. The end result had more peach and less batter per bite and was terrific. This recipe is from Dori Sanders’ Country Cooking, via Southern Living. We ate it with Pecan Shortbread Cookies– is that too much? 🙂 They went surprisingly well together.

Yield: 10 servings (or more if served with cookies!)

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups granulated sugar, divided
  • 1 T baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup milk (I used 1 percent)
  • 4 cups fresh peach slices (I used 5 large peaches)
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • ground cinnamon or nutmeg (optional)
  1. Melt butter in a 13- x 9-inch baking dish.
  2. Combine flour, 1 cup sugar, baking powder and salt; add milk, stirring just until dry ingredients are moistened. Pour batter over melted butter (DO NOT STIR).
  3. Bring remaining 1 cup sugar, peach slices, and lemon juice to a boil over high heat, stirring constantly; pour over batter (DO NOT STIR).
  4. Sprinkle with cinnamon or nutmeg, if desired.
  5. Bake at 375 degrees for 35 minutes (on convection) to 45 minutes or until golden brown. Serve cobbler warm or cool.
About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

6 responses to “Easy Peach Cobbler

  1. kerstinlee

    I was in the mood for a peach dessert and decided to bring this to my sister-in-law’s. It was soooooo good and a huge hit. 🙂

  2. Hi Josette,
    Just to let you know today is the 2nd time within this month that I tried out your easy peach cobbler recipe. It turned out delicious both times and was a great hit with my friends. Thank you for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 978 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
