100% Whole Wheat Banana Bread Muffins

IMG_5306

I woke up early and was excited that I had enough time to bake my ultra-ripe bananas into something tasty for breakfast. I had a recipe in mind from one of my favorite bakery cookbooks, but when I saw that more that 1 cup of butter was required for 12 muffins … I couldn’t do it! I quickly found this recipe for Whole Wheat Banana Bread in The King Arthur Flour 200th Anniversary Cookbook. Needing a break from my usual New York Times Banana Banana Bread, this sounded like a nice change of pace. Because it was a school day, I baked the batter into muffins rather than bread to decrease the baking time (We are in a bit of a time crunch in the morning!). I also modified the recipe by adding the topping from the Banana Banana Bread because we love it so much. These muffins were incredible! I love that they contain 100% whole wheat flour and are still very moist and tender. I think this recipe will become my new stand-by banana bread. 🙂

Note: I clearly have a thing for banana muffins…. I have included not only the link above to my (previous) favorite banana bread, but links to several of my posts about other great banana muffins below!

Yield: Makes 12 standard muffins

For the Batter:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup mashed ripe bananas (I used 3 small)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups King Arthur Stone Ground Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp coarse salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, optional (or optional topping)

For the Topping:

  • 3 T chopped walnuts
  • 1 T turbinado sugar
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cream the butter and sugar until well blended and creamy, about 2 to 3 minutes. Add and beat together the eggs, bananas, and vanilla.
  3. In another bowl, mix together the flour, baking soda and salt. Blend the liquid ingredients into the dry ingredients. Add walnuts, if desired.
  4. Pour this mixture into a greased, 9 x 5-inch loaf pan or a greased 12-cup muffin pan.
  5. Assemble the topping by combining the ingredients. Top each muffin with a generous spoonful, or sprinkle over the loaf.
  6. Bake until a toothpick in the center comes out clean, or with a couple of crumbs, about 40 to 45 minutes for a Pullman loaf, 60 minutes for a standard loaf, and 17 to 18 minutes for the muffins (on convection).

One Year Ago:

If you like this you may also like:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

9 responses to “100% Whole Wheat Banana Bread Muffins

  1. Saving it :). Still waiting to listen from you on food post for USA :).

  2. Kerstin

    You can never have enough recipes for banana muffins and banana bread. 🙂

  3. I love bananas! So much so, I think I was a monkey in a past life. 😀 thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 958 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
