Chili-Lime Pork Tenderloin with Corn Salad

IMG_5702

I was excited to make this dish as soon as I saw the recipe – it combines so many of my favorite flavors and is quick to prepare. I am also trying to squeeze in every last recipe with fresh corn before the season is over. 🙂 The pork cooked quickly and was really tender. The corn salad was fabulous! This recipe was adapted from Everyday Food.

When I told my son what we were having for dinner he asked if he could eat it as a taco filling– what a great thought! I cut the meat and topped it with corn salad in his tacos the first night, and then we ate the leftovers in corn tortillas as well. I squeezed fresh lime juice on top. Perfect.

Yield: Serves 4 to 6

  • 4 ears corn (about 4 cups kernels)
  • 1 small jalapeno, seeded if desired, minced
  • 2 scallions, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup fresh cilantro
  • 1 1/2 small avocados, sliced or cubed
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil, divided, plus more for grill
  • 2 limes
  • Coarse salt and pepper
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 2 pork tenderloin (1 pound each), each cut into six (to eight) 1-inch-thick medallions
  1. Boil corn 2 minutes in a pot of salted water. Drain and rinse under cold water to cool. With a sharp knife, cut kernels from cobs. Transfer to a bowl and toss with jalapeno, scallion, cilantro, avocado, 2 tablespoons oil, and juice of 1 lime. Season with salt.
  2. Combine chili powder, 2 teaspoons salt, 1/2 teaspoon pepper, and remaining 2 tablespoons oil. Place plastic wrap over pork medallions and press each to flatten to about 1/2 inch thick. Brush both sides with chili mixture.
  3. Heat a grill or grill pan to medium-high. Clean and lightly oil hot grill. Grill pork 3 to 4 minutes per side for medium. Remove from grill and squeeze juice of remaining lime on top. Serve with corn salad.

IMG_5681

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

5 responses to “Chili-Lime Pork Tenderloin with Corn Salad

  1. This looks great! We’re moving in 2 weeks so I’m in the process of clearing our meat in our fridge. We just happen to have an extra tenderloin and got the last corn of the season from our CSA. I know what my dinner is going to be on Monday 🙂 Thanks!

  2. I nominated you for the Liebster Award ^_^
    Check out my post for further details
    http://thefoodgasmiccookbook.wordpress.com/2013/10/06/liebster-award/

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 998 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
