Gluten-Free Hazelnut & Dark Chocolate Brownies

IMG_5707

I was excited to see this simple recipe on Lattes and Leggings. My gluten-free friend is in the midst of a kitchen renovation and we have dined together a few times. I brought these brownies to a dinner at our mutual friends’ home. I was happy to contribute a gluten-free dessert! 🙂 These are very rich and chocolatey. I modified the recipe by using 72% cacao dark chocolate, lining my 9×9 pan with parchment paper, and adding a pinch of coarse salt. I love that maple syrup is used as the sweetener.

Yield: makes 16 squares

  • 3/4 cup hazelnuts
  • 1 cup (5 to 6 oz) chopped dark chocolate (72% cacao)
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 1/3 cup pure maple syrup
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • pinch of coarse salt
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease an 8×8-inch or a 9×9-inch baking pan.
  2. Arrange the hazelnuts on a baking sheet. Toast in the oven for 8 to 10 minutes. The hazelnuts will brown slightly, and the skins will become flaky making it easier to remove them. Allow the hazelnuts to cool for 5 minutes. Remove the skins and add 1/2 cup of hazelnuts to a food processor. Processor until finely ground. Transfer to a bowl and set aside. Add the remaining 1/4 cup of hazelnuts to the food processor and process until chopped.
  3. While the nuts are toasting, set up a double boiler or glass bowl over a saucepan of simmering water. Melt the chocolate and butter over low heat until smooth. Remove from heat. Let cool for 5 minutes. Add the maple syrup, cocoa powder, vanilla, and salt. Whisk until smooth. Whisk in the eggs one at a time until blended. Add the 1/2 cup of finely ground hazelnuts and continue whisking for 1 to 2 minutes until the mixture is smooth. Pour the batter in the prepared pan. Sprinkle the remaining 1/4 cup of chopped hazelnuts on top.
  4. Bake for 15 (on convection) to 17 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let the brownies cool in the pan completely. Cut brownies into squares and serve.

IMG_5732

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

12 responses to “Gluten-Free Hazelnut & Dark Chocolate Brownies

  1. This is excellent. Have saved it. Probably will try with almonds and pecans 🙂

  2. Kellyf

    I consumed half of the plate and I am waiting for a private moment to sneak the last two. These are delicious!!!! Super chocolate flavor and not too sweet. Thanks for the hook up! Once the kitchen is done, I will be baking away and cooking for you!

  3. I’ve just decided to go gluten free for health reasons.. Probably carbs free soon… 😛
    These look DE-lish! I’ll try before I trully take the plunge. Thanks for the early morning mouth water….. Ha!

  4. Ohmigod, these look great to indulge on! I’m def planning on making these next weekend!

  5. Pingback: Some Great Gluten Free Recipes… | Recipe Reblog

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 997 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
