Olive-Oil Mashed Potatoes with Garlic and Sage

IMG_6537

I have used different strategies for Thanksgiving mashed potatoes in the past. I have made them at the last-minute many times (inconvenient because of gravy and turkey carving demands) and I have made them in advance and kept them warm over a water bath. I also used to serve a mashed potato casserole that could be assembled days in advance and baked on Thanksgiving day. This year I made them early in the day and then kept them warm in a slow-cooker… PERFECT. They kept their moisture and didn’t require any tweaking prior to serving.

I doubled this recipe – 6 pounds of potatoes- and had TONS of mashed potatoes!! I am glad that my husband and son would eat mashed potatoes every day. 🙂 This recipe was adapted from Martha Stewart Living. I mashed them with a masher because I prefer lumpy potatoes; a food mill or ricer could be used as well. The garlic and sage flavors were subtle and nice.

I hope you can note the mashed potatoes somewhere in this healthy serving! 🙂

  • Serves: 8
  • 1 1/4 cups whole milk, plus more for thinning, if needed
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh sage leaves
  • 3 pounds Yukon Gold potatoes, scrubbed and cut into 1-inch chunks
  • 6-7 cloves garlic, smashed and peeled
  • Coarse salt
  1. Bring milk, oil, butter, and sage to a boil in a small saucepan. Remove from heat and set aside. Cover potatoes and garlic with 2 inches cold water in a large pot. Add 1 tablespoon salt and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer until potatoes are tender when pierced with a knife, about 13 minutes.
  2. Drain potatoes and return to pot. Pour milk mixture through a fine sieve over potatoes; discard solids. Mash potato mixture with a potato masher to combine. Season with salt.

Note: Mashed potatoes can be made 3 days ahead and stored in refrigerator. Reheat in a bowl set over a pot of simmering water, thinning with more milk if necessary.

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 958 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
