Roasted Vegetables with Pomegranate Vinaigrette

IMG_6509

Several years ago, I served this side dish for Thanksgiving. I loved the pop of color from the pomegranate seeds! The seeds also add a contrasting texture and freshness. This recipe calls for a Romanesco cauliflower which I was unfamiliar with. Ironically, I received my first Romanesco cauliflower in my CSA box the day before Thanksgiving. It was so beautiful I used it as a centerpiece on our table instead of roasting it! 🙂 I substituted my CSA broccoli. This recipe was adapted from Martha Stewart Living. I roasted the vegetables after taking the turkey out of the oven. GREAT!

  • Serves: 12
For the Roasted Vegetables:
  • 1 large head regular cauliflower (about 2 pounds), cut into small florets
  • 1 pound baby Romanesco cauliflower, or regular, cut into small florets (I used broccoli instead)
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch wedges
  • 1 pound brussels sprouts, halved if large
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper

For the Vinaigrette:

  • 1/2 cup pomegranate juice
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 cup pomegranate seeds
  1. Roast the vegetables: Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Toss together vegetables and oil in a large bowl, and season with salt and pepper. Spread vegetables evenly on 2 rimmed baking sheets, and roast until golden, mixing halfway through, about 30 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, make the vinaigrette: Transfer pomegranate juice to a bowl. Pour in oil in a slow, steady stream, whisking until emulsified. Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Just before serving, drizzle vinaigrette over warm vegetables, and toss with pomegranate seeds.
IMG_6646

Romanesco Cauliflower

One Year Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

2 responses to “Roasted Vegetables with Pomegranate Vinaigrette

  1. Fabulous! A perfect “light” meal or side for this time of year!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,054 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
