Broccoli & Mozzarella Potluck Stromboli

IMG_7452

I had a stromboli factory in my kitchen last night! I made 4 individual strombolis for my family for our dinner AND 2 larger ones (which we sliced) for my husband to bring for a potluck lunch at work the next day. When we lived in Alabama, my husband made a stromboli for work potluck lunches a few times. Somehow- that is what came to mind this time! This recipe was adapted from Everyday Food.

The wonderful thing about a stromboli is that it can basically be filled with ANYTHING- plus cheese and marinara. I used my favorite pizza dough recipe, increased the garlic and spices, grated the cheese in a food processor, and used Trader Joe’s Tuscano Marinara Sauce. The kids really enjoyed it too! EASY! A great alternative to pizza or calzones.

IMG_7448

  • 1 pound pizza dough, thawed if frozen
  • All-purpose flour, for work surface
  • 1 package (1 pound) frozen chopped broccoli, thawed or 1 pound fresh broccoli
  • 3-4 large garlic cloves, minced
  • dried oregano, crushed red pepper flakes, to taste, optional
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1 cup marinara sauce, plus more for dipping, optional
  • 8 oz shredded part-skim mozzarella
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  1. Make pizza dough per this bread machine recipe (my favorite!!). (Store bought dough could easily be used as well.)
  2. Thaw frozen broccoli or cook fresh broccoli. To prepare the fresh broccoli, bring a medium-size pot of water to a boil. Prepare an ice-water bath; set aside. When water comes to a boil, salt generously and add broccoli. Cook for 2 minutes. Remove and transfer to ice water bath until cool. Remove and pat dry. Chop into 1/4-inch pieces.
  3. Preheat oven to 400 degrees (convection). Line 2 large rimmed baking sheets with parchment paper. Divide dough into 4 pieces. On a lightly floured work surface, stretch out each piece, first to a 3-by-4 inch oval, then to a 6-by-8-inch oval (let dough rest briefly if too elastic to work with).
  4. Spread 1/4 cup marinara over each piece of dough, leaving a 1/2-inch border.
  5. Place broccoli in a strainer, and press to remove excess liquid. Transfer to a double layer of paper towels, and pat dry. Coarsely chop.
  6. Dividing evenly, scatter broccoli over dough, leaving a 1/2-inch border. Sprinkle with garlic, and season with oregano, red pepper flakes, coarse salt, and pepper.
  7. Starting at a shorter end, roll up each stromboli, tucking in the filling as you go. There’s no need to crimp the ends. IMG_7438
  8. Using the tip of a paring knife, cut three slits in the top of each. Brush with olive oil. Bake until golden, 25 to 30 minutes. Serve stromboli with marinara sauce for dipping, if desired. IMG_7441

One Year Ago:

If you like this you may also like:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

15 responses to “Broccoli & Mozzarella Potluck Stromboli

  1. The Editor

    this is a cool recipe…many will enjoy this…

  2. Sooo weird. I did too! I made pesto, provolone, and braesola stromboli. So funny!

  3. Looks gorgeous Josette and on my list to make these!

  4. Ok. This looks delish. Since I’m still contemplating about what to prepare for sunday night dinner… I think I found myself a stromboli winner! Grocery list in the making as we speak. Thanks are in order. 😉 THX!

  5. Your’s looks fantastic too! I had just read dishinthekitchen’s stromboli post. You both are encouraging me to make one. Maybe one for the Super Bowl…instead of pizza would be a nice change.

  6. That looks and sounds beautiful! Love your recipes. They are a fab mix of classics and things I’ve never heard of – like stromboli – I’ll add that one to my food vocabulary! Hope to give it a try soon too:)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
