Winter Squash Carbonara with Pancetta & Sage

IMG_7513

This dish uses pureed squash to create a lighter version of carbonara, one of my husband’s favorites. The result was wonderful– dinner party worthy! 🙂 We loved it. I wish I had made it for Valentine’s Day!! This recipe was adapted from Bon AppĂ©tit.

Yield: 4 servings

Total Time: 1 hour

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 oz. pancetta (Italian bacon), chopped
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh sage
  • 1 2-lb. kabocha or butternut squash, peeled, seeded, cut into ½” pieces (about 3 cups) (I used 2 1-lb organic butternut squash)
  • 1 large sweet or yellow onion, chopped
  • 4 large cloves garlic, chopped
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 12 oz. fettucine or linguine (I used De Cecco whole wheat linguine)
  • ¼ cup finely grated Pecorino, plus shaved for serving
  1. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add pancetta, reduce heat to medium, and cook, stirring occasionally, until crisp, 4-5 minutes. Add sage and toss to coat. Using a slotted spoon, transfer pancetta and sage to a small bowl; set aside.
  2. Add squash, onion, and garlic to skillet; season with salt and pepper and cook, stirring occasionally, until onion is translucent, 8–10 minutes. Add broth. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer until squash is soft and liquid is reduced by half, 15–20 minutes. Let cool slightly, then purée in a blender or food processor until smooth; season with salt and pepper. Reserve skillet.
  3. Cook pasta in a large pot of boiling salted water, stirring occasionally, until al dente. Drain, reserving 1 cup pasta cooking liquid.
  4. Combine pasta, squash purée, and ¼ cup pasta cooking liquid in reserved skillet and cook over medium heat, tossing and adding more pasta cooking liquid as needed, until sauce coats pasta, about 2 minutes. Mix in ¼ cup Pecorino; season with salt and pepper.
  5. Serve pasta topped with reserved pancetta and sage, shaved Pecorino, and more pepper.

DO AHEAD: Squash purée can be made 3 days ahead. Let cool; cover and chill.

One Year Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

7 responses to “Winter Squash Carbonara with Pancetta & Sage

  1. Like you husband, I love a carbonara, This sounds like a great twist on an old favorite. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Jessica

    Did I hear dinner party?!?! This looks delicious….hint hint!

  3. Ahhh I’m so annoyed! My wordpress reader has been playing up and unfollowing loads of my favourite blogs and it’s driving me mad – yours is one that it deleted and I thought today, I wonder why I haven’t seen any posts from the Brook Cook recently… damn you wordpress.
    Looks like I have lots to catch up on which is going to be fun – including this amazing idea!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,023 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
