Pull-Apart Irish Soda Bread

IMG_7914
When I saw a photo of this bread in Martha Stewart Living, I had to make soda bread this way! Because the pieces are smaller, the baking time is much shorter than traditional soda bread and the result is much more moist and tender bread. This recipe is also loaded with raisins and wonderful flavor and texture from caraway seeds. Great! Perfect for our annual St. Patrick’s Day soda bread breakfast. πŸ™‚ (and week before St. Patrick’s Day soda bread breakfasts…) This recipe is from Martha Stewart Living. Happy Fiesta Friday #7Β at the Novice Gardener!!
  • 1 1/3 cups whole milk
  • 1/3 cup apple-cider vinegar
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for surface and dusting
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons coarse salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 ounces (4 tablespoons) cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1 cup unprocessed wheat bran
  • 1/4 cup caraway seeds
  • 1 cup (5 ounces) raisins
  • Salted butter, preferably Irish, for serving
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment. Mix milk and vinegar in a small bowl, and let stand until thickened, about 5 minutes.
  2. Whisk together flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda in a large bowl. Cut in unsalted butter with a pastry cutter or 2 knives until mixture resembles coarse meal.
  3. Add bran, caraway seeds, and raisins; stir to distribute.
  4. Pour milk mixture into flour mixture; stir until dough just holds together but is still sticky.
  5. Turn dough onto a lightly floured surface. Pat and press the dough gently into a round, dome-shaped loaf.
  6. Divide the dough into 16 equal pieces and, with floured hands, roll each into a ball. Transfer the balls to a parchment-lined baking sheet in 4 rows of 4, making sure each dough ball is touching the ones around it.Β With the tip of a paring knife, cut a 1/4-inch-deep X on each ball.
  7. Bake, rotating halfway through, until golden brown and a tester inserted in the center comes out clean, about 30 minutes (on convection). Let cool on a wire rack.Β Cool to room temperature before serving with plenty of salted Irish butter.

IMG_7910

One Year Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

37 responses to “Pull-Apart Irish Soda Bread

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #7 and Divorced Eggs | The Novice Gardener

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever actually had soda bread, something I’ll have to try. The pull apart breads sound like the way to go.

    • You HAVE to have soda bread for St. Patrick’s day!! and shortbread…. πŸ™‚ Last year I left out the caraway seeds to please my kids– this year I included them for MYSELF! πŸ™‚

  3. Wow Josette, this is new and so fantastic…an Irish soda bread in pull apart avatar…and totally doable…gorgeous click and kudos to the pull apart creativity :).

  4. I’ve never seen soda bread in any form other than a loaf – and this looks fantastic! If it tastes even half as good as it looks, I’m all in! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  5. I love soda bread and am looking forward to making more for St. Patty’s Day soon. I made a similar recipe to this last year involving caraway seeds and raisins, but not with the “pull apart” idea, which I think is very fun! Thanks, Josette! Happy Friday!

  6. I’ve never seen a pull-apart Soda bread, looks fun!

  7. Josette, these look perfect for a weekend breakfast. I don’t usually make soda breads, but I really like the idea of the pull-apart – quite ingenious!

  8. Victoria

    This looks fabulous! I love soda bread!

  9. I have to make this! Thank you for sharing. I have a bunch of caraway seeds from a borscht that I must use. Looks amazingly tasty.

  10. Oh my goodness, I LOVE Irish soda bread, but I’ve never seen it like this!

  11. I use to make Irish soda bread all the time as a kid. I’ve never seen anything like this! So clever πŸ™‚

  12. What a great idea to make soda bread into a pull-apart version! I love soda bread, too – so easy and simple, and very hearty. Love your recipe!

  13. Now I’m torn. I was going to make scones for a St. Patty’s Day party. Then I saw Lisa’s cake, uh… okay, cake it is! Then I saw this, uh… cake or pull-apart bread? So torn! πŸ™‚

  14. Ooh, your bread looks deliciously tender, Josette! They are so cute!

  15. Josette, I just had my dinner, but I can easily pull apart 3 or 4 of them right now! πŸ˜›

  16. Impeccable timing! I am making soda bread today. I’m not sure about the caraway seeds, but love the pull apart theory. Thanks and happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  17. I’ve never had Irish Soda bread! I was at the grocery store this morning, and I saw a display of it…I almost bought a loaf, but then I thought, no… I’ll just find a recipe and make it. And here is the recipe!! I LOVE it!! πŸ™‚ I’ll be giving it a try…maybe as early as tomorrow!

  18. Pull apart soda bread is a genius idea!! It means we can have soda bread after work on a weeknight, woot! Yours look great and thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,047 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge