Warm Chocolate Puddings

IMG_8183

I dressed up a take-out pizza and salad night with this special dessert. Just as easy as box-mix brownies and much more fabulous! They are more like mini-soufflรฉ cakes than warm puddings. This recipe was adapted from Everyday Food. I used Trader Joe’s 72% cacao Belgian dark chocolate and topped each pudding with salted caramel ice cream. They would have been just as delicious with vanilla bean ice cream- or coffee ice cream- or no ice cream?!? I’m bringing this wonderful dessert to Fiesta Friday #10 at the Novice Gardener this week. Enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 4 ounces semisweet or bittersweet chocolate, chopped (I used Trader Joe’s 72% cacao Belgian dark chocolate)
  • 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
  • 4 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 large eggs, yolks and whites separated
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • Ice cream (any flavor), for serving (optional) (I used salted caramel)
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees (on convection). Place four 6- to 8-ounce ovenproof bowls on a baking sheet. Set aside.
  2. Place chocolate and butter in a medium heatproof bowl set over (not in) a saucepan of gently simmering water. Stir occasionally just until melted, 4 to 5 minutes. Remove from heat; mix in 2 tablespoons sugar, then egg yolks and vanilla. Set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, with an electric mixer, beat egg whites and salt until soft peaks form. Still beating, gradually add remaining 2 tablespoons sugar; beat until mixture is stiff and glossy.
  4. Using a rubber spatula, mix about 1/3 egg-white mixture into chocolate mixture; gently fold in remaining egg-white mixture just until combined. Divide among bowls. (Puddings can be prepared in advance up to this point; cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate up to 1 day.)
  5. Bake until tops are puffed and cracked but insides are still quite soft (a toothpick inserted in center will come out gooey), 10 to 12 minutes on convection, or longerย if puddings were previously refrigerated.ย IMG_8168
  6. Serve, warm or at room temperature (puddings may sink as they cool), topped with ice cream, if desired.

One Year Ago:

If you like this you may also like:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

52 responses to “Warm Chocolate Puddings

  1. These chocolate puddings look incredible! A dollop of vanilla bean ice cream, and I would be in heaven! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #10 | The Novice Gardener

  3. You had me a chocolate! But warm…pudding…salted caramel ice cream too? Delicious and perfect in my book! I think extra miles will need to be added to my walk today ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. This looks so good – I’m always craving a chocolately dessert!

  5. Who could resist to this?? Not me, thatยดs for sure!

  6. yum! I have noticed that a pudding type dish I make also sinks upon cooling. So I suppose that is common?

  7. These look heavenly! Perfect dessert for Fiesta Friday!!

  8. This is exactly the way I like chocolate – dark, rich and just enough to satisfy the craving. Never thought of the salted caramel ice cream as a garnish, but that is brilliant. This would make a beautiful finale to an elegant dinner. Thanks.

  9. Oh my goodness, it is indulgent Fridays (that’s how it goes at my house) and these are DEFINITELY on the menu! I’ll let you know how it goes!

    Also, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster award! How could I not, when I so completely enjoy every single post of yours! You can find more details here: http://strictlydelicious.wordpress.com/2014/04/04/strictly-exciting-liebster-award-for-strictlydelicious/.

  10. That looks absolutely perfect!

  11. So that was the amazing aroma I smelled when you walked into the party! ๐Ÿ™‚ Everybody is following their nose towards your pudding! And no wonder – topped with salted caramel ice-cream? It doesn’t get any better than this. The next time I have take-out pizza, I’ll wow my husband with this dessert. He won’t know what hit him!!

  12. Oh. my. Ohmyohmyohmy! These look heavenly.

  13. This looks so good my dear. A warm pudding with some vanilla icecream sounds inviting any time of the day!
    Saving your recipe!

  14. I have all of the ingredients but not Trader Joe’s chocolate, I usually use Ghiradelli. I do have a Trader Joe’s near by but never thought about buying their chocolate – I will have to try It ๐Ÿ™‚

    • The 72% cacao “Pound Plus” dark chocolate is THE BEST!! I use it for all sorts of baking… I just put it in my Mexican mole sauce as well!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Try it! They also have Valrhona- which I usually use (but don’t have on hand all the time) when the chocolate is really going to shine- like in this dessert or a chocolate soufflรฉ cake. I think it’s the best!

  15. These look wonderful Josette! Perfect dessert to brush off the cold ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Wow, these look so lovely!! Whenever I eat out and there is a molten chocolate cake with ice cream on the dessert menu, I have to order it. Your recipe looks like I can finally make this treat for myself at home, thanks for sharing! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  17. This plus pizza and salad night? What is better than that?? Not much, I tell ya. Your puddings look so decadent, Josette. Yummy in my tummy!

  18. I’m getting a sugar rush just by looking at this XD

  19. These look perfect, Josette. I occasionally make chocolate cake cups for after dinner because they are so easy, and next time I will try this recipe instead of my usual!

  20. This is such an impressive dessert… I would never believe in a million years that this was easy to throw together if you served it to me… I’d be so impressed with your level of expertise!! I wouldn’t tell too many people how easy it is!! You might be too young to remember, but when they first did the commercials for Rice Krispie bars…it was a mom sitting in her kitchen reading a romance novel (or something like that) with a plate of Rice Krispie bars in front of her. After quite a long time, she stood up, took some flour and poofed it onto her face to make it look like she worked hard in the kitchen on those bars…and then walked into the room where her family was to present the plate of bars to them…. Hahaha!! I love the type of dessert that makes it look like you really fussed, when in fact it was a breeze!!
    This is truly one of those desserts, because to me, it is so elegant looking…one to truly impress!!

    • You are so funny. I am probably too old to remember that commercial!! ๐Ÿ™‚ maybe it’s vaguely familiar? ๐Ÿ™‚ Another nice feature of this dessert is that it can be prepped ahead of time and then baked at the last minute so that it can be served warm- GREAT for guests- who will be impressed, no doubt! ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. Such an elegant and beautiful dessert! Perfect for a romantic night! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 997 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
