Saffron Pappardelle with Moroccan Spiced Shallot-Butter Sauce

IMG_8258

We have been pappardelle crazy in my household lately– we can’t eat enough of it!! The original recipe had instructions to make saffron tagliatelle but I opted to put saffron threads in my pappardelle cooking water. This shortcut added a surprising amount of flavor – and color- to the noodles. Great! The spiced shallot-butter sauce was spicy and loaded with flavor. This recipe was adapted from Plenty: Vibrant Vegetable Recipes from London’s Ottolenghi by Yotam Ottolenghi. I omitted the mint and made half of the suggested amount of sauce (I wasn’t baking… I couldn’t use 2 sticks of butter!). I am a sauce lover and the noodles were completely coated in delicious sauce; the reduced amount was perfect. A wonderful and quick weeknight meal!

Yield: Serves 6 to 8

  • 1 pound of egg pappardelle or tagliatelle
  • 1 large pinch of saffron threads
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 2 T extra-virgin olive oil
  • 4 large shallots, finely chopped in a food processor
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp sweet paprika
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp chile flakes
  • 1/4 tsp ground turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp coarse salt, or more, to taste
  • freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 2/3 cup pine nuts, toasted
  • 1/2 cup roughly chopped parsley (alternatively, 1/4 cup mint and 1/4 cup parsley can be used)
  1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.
  2. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Toast the pine nuts for 2-3 minutes, or until fragrant and light brown in color.
  3. Make the Moroccan Spiced Butter: Place the butter and oil in a frying pan and add the shallots. Cook the shallots gently for about 10 minutes, or until they soften and the butter turns slightly brown. Add all of the spices, salt, and pepper. Remove from the heat and keep warm.
  4. Add a large pinch of saffron threads to the salted boiling water. Cook the pasta in the water according to package instructions. Drain and return to the saucepan.
  5. Pour the spiced butter over the pasta and stir well. Sprinkle with parsley and pine nuts and gently incorporate. Serve.

IMG_8238

One Year Ago:

 

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

47 responses to “Saffron Pappardelle with Moroccan Spiced Shallot-Butter Sauce

  1. I think this pasta looks so rustic and hearty! Yum!

  2. Hi…. This looks lovely! Do you think I could try it with Spaghetti?

  3. Oh my, look at all the slices that you have used in the pasta! These are not only Mediterranean but totally Indian too :). Yumm!! The use of saffron in boiling the noodles has left me amused. Wow, simply wow Josette :).

  4. Looks amazing would never have thought to put those flavours in a pasta dish!

  5. It’s gorgeous. A beautiful pasta dish. So glad you experimented and found you didn’t have to use so much butter. Two sticks does sound a bit much for a pasta sauce! Through your experience, I now have a great recipe to try. Bookmarked.

    • Yay! It was really good- cold leftovers good too!! πŸ™‚

      • I made it! It really is fantastic. I must confess though. I’m not a saffron fan. I know, it crazy. But, I made this anyway and left it out and we loved it. So delicious! Don’t you just love pappardelle, it so luscious. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe.

      • Woo hoo! So happy to hear it! πŸ™‚ I agree that it would be wonderful with or without the saffron. Pappardelle or tagliatelle!! πŸ™‚ Shallots and spiced butter- what’s not to like? So easy to whip up too.

      • And it turned out beautifully. I mean “looking”. What a gorgeous pasta! Impressive for a dinner party. πŸ™‚

      • I agree. I have been on a winter break from having dinner parties and need to get back into that groove. πŸ™‚ This would be a quick and pretty dinner party meal. So happy that you tried it & enjoyed it! πŸ™‚

  6. wow, this pasta is just bursting with spices and herbs! yum..

  7. What a great idea to use saffron for the flavor and the color! Simply yum! πŸ™‚

    • The yellow really comes out in the photo– I was surprised the dish was really that yellow! πŸ™‚ The egg noodles start out with a yellow hue too. I can’t take credit for the saffron idea… it is a suggestion on the recipe! A great one though πŸ™‚

  8. I cannot believe that I haven’t seen your blog before – I’ve had a look at your recipes and the way you write and just love it! So happy to follow you!

  9. I love this, Josette! Such wonderful flavors plus texture with the pine nuts! Deeeelish!

  10. Ooooh, I’ve been eyeing up this recipe too. Yours looks fantastic! I was going to make the pasta, but now I know the shortcut works, maybe I’ll just do that πŸ™‚

    • I was going to make the pasta too… I usually use wheat or all-purpose flour and semolina flour in my egg pasta. The recipe called for 00 flour- which after looking it up seemed essential. I didn’t have 00- so I opted for the shortcut! So easy & great! I plan to try making the pasta next time, it does sound delicious.

  11. This looks gorgeous Josette! A plate full of comfort with some lovely flavors to boot πŸ™‚

  12. that looks freaking amazing! great recipe!

  13. Pingback: Spiced mooli ribbons with steamed chicken | Lime & Barley

  14. Just posted a link to this wonderful recipe that inspired my dinner tonight! Thanks for planting the idea πŸ™‚

  15. Love all the pasta recipes! So good- love the addition of saffron to the dish!

  16. That looks incredibly beautiful!

  17. What a different take on a pasta dish. I love the beautiful color.

  18. So colorful and I’m sure it’s delicious. I never thought you could use saffron on pasta. πŸ™‚

  19. Ooh…this looks really fancy and yummy! I love saffron, but don’t use it all too often (the whole price thing, you know) – this looks like the perfect dish to splurge on a little bit πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,024 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
