Stove-Top Pasta and Cheese

IMG_8559

I had so many excuses to make this rich & cheesy weeknight dinner… it was 16 degrees colder than average, raining, I was tired…. I also needed something great for Fiesta Friday #14 at the Novice Gardener! It was a tasty, quick cooking, one-pot meal. A crowd pleaser. ๐Ÿ™‚ This recipe was adapted from Martha Stewart Living. …and, yes, amazing Garlic Bread was served on the side. We did eat it with huge green salads as well for veggies and color. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 2 to 3 slices rustic bread, such as ciabatta, trimmed of crusts and cut into 1-inch pieces (I used 2 slices of Tuscan Pane)
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter, melted
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 pound whole wheat spaghetti
  • 3 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 ounce Parmesan, finely grated (about 1/2 cup)
  • 1 ounce white extra-sharp cheddar, finely grated (about 1/2 cup)
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  1. Toast the cut and trimmed bread in a 400 degree oven util lightly browned, about 5 minutes.
  2. Pulse bread in a food processor (I used a mini) until coarsely ground (you should have 1 cup). Add melted butter, pulsingย to mix. Season with salt and pepper. Pulse to mix.
  3. Cook pasta in a large pot of generously salted water until al dente, according to package directions. Reserve 1 cup pasta water; drain.
  4. Meanwhile, whisk together eggs, both cheeses, cream, and mustard in a bowl.
  5. Return pasta to pot and add egg mixture. Cook over low heat, stirring, until sauce has thickened, about 2 minutes. Add reserved pasta water, 1/4 cup at a time, until pasta is evenly coated. Season with salt and pepper. Serve immediately, topped with breadcrumbs.

ย One Year Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

42 responses to “Stove-Top Pasta and Cheese

  1. I really love the sound of this post! So comforting!

  2. Pasta and cheese, ultimate comfort food on a cold night. Garlic bread looks fab too!

  3. foodessen

    Sounds very nice!

  4. simple creamy pasta is always winner in my house! This one looks very comforting. yum. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Delicious! Yes, there is cheese and cream. Yes, there is bread involved. But…it’s whole wheat pasta! That makes it healthy, right? I think a big bowl of this would heal my rainy day blues pretty darn quick! Thanks for sharing the recipe…yum!

  6. Josette, this is sinful and absolutely the dish to suit the rainy and tired days and bring to fiesta Friday! Go girl :).

  7. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #14 and Fiesta Friday Challenge #1 | The Novice Gardener

  8. Quick and easy, perfect. And you always make friends with garlic bread. Well done!!

  9. A warm bowl of pasta? Why yes, please! What a great one-pot meal, Josette! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Yeah! This looks like a perfect pasta to me. I love a no fuss pasta. So delicious and easy. I have never used bread crumbs on pasta and I bet it really adds a lovely crunch.

    • Pure comfort meal– nothing healthy about it ๐Ÿ™‚ I did use whole wheat pasta… calcium from the cheese? salad on the side? It is a nice, quick cooking comfort meal!

  11. I love Pasta! This looks very good. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. This looks so good, I can’t believe how quick it is to make! The flavours sound like pure comfort food. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, as I know it will be on our weeknight menu. And thanks for bringing this dish to Fiesta Friday!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  13. Sometimes, all you need is a simple plate of comfort food to warm you up on a rainy day and this is perfect! Thanks for the recipe Josette ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Yum! Perfect for a cool evening – so comforting and delicious! ๐Ÿ˜€

  15. I’m sure your pasta was a crowd pleaser. It reminds me of carbonara.

  16. Total comfort food. And I’m pleased to read Cheddar cheese within ingredients, as I’ll happily grate lots of it on to certain pasta dishes. Don’t care what the purists think as it’s my sups, not theirs!

  17. Pingback: Shout-Out Sunday & An Embarrassment of Riches, Part 2 | feasting with friends

  18. Congratulationsโ€ฆyouโ€™ve been nominated for The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award and The Dragonโ€™s Loyalty Award. Participation is purely optional. If youโ€™re interested here is the link you need to view the rules: http://feastingwithfriendsblog.com/2014/05/04/shout-out-sunday-an-embarrassment-of-riches-part-2/

    • Thank you so much for thinking of me! MUCH appreciated! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am so happy that you made and enjoyed this pasta dish as well. I don’t know what is happening to me… I would normally substitute half & half for the cream as well! The addition of pine nuts was lovely- great idea. Beautiful photo too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • You’re welcome! I look forward to your posts, as you seem to always prepare something my tastes buds are craving. Like this pasta – Yum! The minute I saw your recipe I just HAD to have it for lunch! (I didn’t have heavy cream on hand, which is why I used the half and half, and it worked perfectly.)
        I’m so glad you’re excited to receive the awards. You and thebrookcook truly deserve them! ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. My word! This looks beyond amazing! I am so glad that you brought this to Fiesta Friday….

  20. Wow, this looks delicious! The perfect comfort food, for sure!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 958 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
