Alton Brown’s Berry Muffins

IMG_8569

I am such a muffin fan. Last weekend, after my kids finished their Sunday morning swim practice, they were begging to go to Dunkin’ Donuts! Admittedly, I have brought them there for breakfast in the past… I know that it’s not a habit I want to start!

I had seen this recipe on A Pug in the Kitchen earlier that morning- in a blueberry muffin version. I am an Alton Brown fan and the pictures were enticing. I adapted the recipe by making strawberry muffins, using Greek yogurt, adding vanilla extract, and sprinkling the top with turbinado sugar. The result was delicious. Much like cake! So much better than donuts! Also reminiscent of the Strawberry Shortcake Cookies that I make every year after we go strawberry picking. Everyone loved them. 🙂 Hopefully I won’t hear any pleads for donuts in the near future….

Yield: Makes 12 muffins

  • 12 1/2 ounces cake flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • Heavy pinch coarse salt
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup fat-free Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped fresh strawberry pieces (or fresh blueberries)
  • Vegetable spray, for the muffin tins
  • turbinado sugar, for sprinkling
  1. Preheat oven to 380 degrees F (convection). Grease the muffin pan with non-stick spray.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt and set aside.
  3. In another large bowl, whisk together the sugar, oil, egg, yogurt, and vanilla.
  4. Add the dry ingredients reserving 1 tablespoon of the dry ingredients and toss with the berries. Stir mixture for a count of 10. Add 1 cup berries to mixture and stir 3 more times. Reserve the remaining 1/2 cup of berries.
  5. Using a #20 ice cream scoop, add the mixture to greased muffin pans. Sprinkle the remaining 1/2 cup of berries on top of muffins and press down lightly.
  6. Sprinkle the top of each muffin with turbinado sugar, if desired.
  7. Place into the oven and increase the temperature to 400 degrees. Bake for 17 to 20 minutes, rotating pan halfway through. Remove from oven, turn out, and cool completely on a rack. Serve immediately or store in airtight container for 2 to 3 days.

IMG_8582

One Year Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

12 responses to “Alton Brown’s Berry Muffins

  1. I love it, your muffins are gorgeous and I love the addition of greek yogurt!!! Thank you so much for the shout out and for trying the recipe. Your photo’s are beautiful as are the muffins.

  2. Oh my goodness, oh my goodness – these look so delicious!

  3. What a great recipe! I love your rustic presentation Josette! Look at the gorgeous plate and beautiful muffins :).

  4. Ooh, I love Alton Brown! I’ve bookmarked this recipe, Josette. Once summer arrives I will be cooking/baking up a storm!!

  5. Pingback: Copycat Panera Strawberry-Rhubarb Mini Cakes a.k.a. Strawberry-Streusel Muffins | Barks and Baking

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
