Mango Margarita

IMG_8690

My kids and I go through cases of mangoes- fighting for the last piece. Margaritas are my favorite cocktail. You see why this is the perfect recipe, right? πŸ™‚ Perfect for Mother’s Day! Perfect for Fiesta Friday #16 at The Novice Gardener too! I didn’t join the party last week and have to make up for it this week with two contributions. (My fabulous Mother’s Day dinner will be next….)

This recipe was adapted from Food and Wine, contributed by David Yan of Casa Noble Estate. We added a little bit of granulated sugar to the chile powder coating on the rim of the glass. My kids enjoyed a non-alcoholic version as well. Super tasty!

Yield: Makes 2 drinks

  • 1 cup ice
  • 1 lime wedge
  • 3 ounces tequila
  • 1 small mangoβ€”peeled, pitted and coarsely chopped (3 ounces)
  • 1 1/2 ounces fresh lime juice
  • 1 tsp chile powder
  • 1 tsp granulated sugar
  • 2 ouncesΒ Cointreau
  • 1 1/2 ounces agave nectar
  • 3 ounces Italian grapefruit soda
  1. Spread the chile powder and granulated sugar in a dish. Moisten the rim of a margarita glass with the lime wedge; dip the rim in the chile powder to coat.
  2. In a blender, puree the mango. Add the remaining ingredients and blend until smooth. Pour into the glass and serve.

IMG_8672

One Year Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

32 responses to “Mango Margarita

  1. oh that would be good right now! πŸ™‚ Might have make a pitcher of those, have a great weekend!

  2. Wowser!! This is my kinda drink πŸ˜‰

  3. margaritas are my favourite cocktail! thank you!
    Simi

  4. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #16 | The Novice Gardener

  5. Awesome! I am going to try this! I have everything to make this at home.

  6. Just in time for weekend enjoyment! Sounds delicious…and they’re such a beautiful color! In order to get my daily fruit requirements in, I should probably have 2 drinks…right?

  7. I can use a refreshing mango margarita! Looks delicious!

  8. How special your kids must feel sipping on such an elegant drink. I have memories of “virgin” strawberry daiquiris as a kid; a big highlight at fancy dinners out. A big fan of mangoes, this house, we are taking these to the beach. Aloha and Mahalo.

  9. It may only be midday here but I could definitely go for one of these right now! Margaritas are my favourite cocktail too, I don’t experiment enough with them though!

  10. Mango Margarita… that’s unique!

  11. MANGO margarita? I have a love for mangoes! Sooo YUM! I must try this recipe! =)

  12. I think it’s finally time I buy a blender so I can make fabulous drinks like this one. What a delicious looking cocktail!

  13. Wha hoo! Now that’s a Fiesta Friday cocktail! Watch it…people are jumping the queue to get in on this!! 😎 Hey! I was here first!

  14. Ooooh yes please!! I hope you have brought enough for us all – they are perfect for the beach fiesta this week! Love mangoes and love that you have made a cocktail out of them!!!

  15. Mhmmm, this looks absolutely delicious! We all love mangos in our house too, so usually whoever sees the mango once it’s ripe gets it. πŸ™‚ Thanks for bringing this drink to the fiesta- time to kick back and relax!

  16. Mango and margarita? I have to give this recipe a try =)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,024 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
