Baked Mustard Chicken

IMG_8827

My husband’s birthday celebration involves a special meal out and a special meal at home. For the past few years, there have been a few constants on the birthday menu at home: cheesecake (his FAVORITE listed on the link at the end of this post), mustard “something”, and potatoes. πŸ™‚ When I first spotted this recipe in the New York Times, I immediately thought of my husband’s birthday dinner. It involved 3/4 cup of Dijon mustard (mustardy) and baked for HOURS (special). I quartered chickens for the first time too. (Thanks to help from You Tube!)

The chicken is coated with mustard, garlic, spices, and bread crumbs; this coating seals in the moisture as the chicken bakes. The original recipe stated that the chicken should cook for 2 to 2 1/2 hours, until the coating is dark and crispy. I set the oven to convection and shortened the baking time to 1 1/2 hours. The end result was tasty, but not that mustardy! It tasted more like delicious baked “fried” chicken. We ate it with wonderful creamed spinach and roasted potatoes.Β This recipe was adapted from Home Cooking by Laurie Colwin, via the New York Times.

Happy Birthday to my hubby and Happy Fiesta Friday #18 at The Novice Gardener!

Yield: 6 to 8 servings

  • 3/4 cup Dijon mustard
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 cups fine dry unseasoned bread crumbs
  • 2 chickens, approximately 3 pounds each, quartered, dried, at room temperature for 1 hour
  • 1 tablespoon sweet paprika, or as needed
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

1.
Heat oven to 350 degrees. (I used a convection oven.) In a large mixing bowl, combine mustard, garlic, thyme, cinnamon, a pinch of salt and 1/2 teaspoon black pepper. Place bread crumbs in another large bowl.
2.
Working in batches, coat chicken quarters on all sides with mustard mixture. Shake off excess mustard, then coat completely with bread crumbs. Arrange in a single layer in two large, shallow baking pans.
3.
Dust the chicken with paprika to taste and scatter butter pieces on top. Bake until crust is deep golden brown and crispy, about 1 hour 20 minutes to 1 hour 30 minutes in a convection oven, or 2 hours Β to 2 1/2 hours in a standard oven. Serve hot or at room temperature.

One Year Ago:

If you like this you may also like:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

35 responses to “Baked Mustard Chicken

  1. It looks tasty and I like the sound of creamed spinach as a side dish! πŸ™‚

  2. a breaded chicken to bring to he part on FF18! thats like snoop would bring! cool!

  3. I like your husband’s birthday traditions and may have to adapt them to my birthday!:) My favorite cheesecake is vanilla bean from Cheesecake Factory so I am saving your recipe to try. You are such a sweet wife to make all of those things for him, and it’s so neat that he looks forward to it.

    • Thank you for your sweet words! πŸ™‚ As much as I love trying new recipes I have made that same cheesecake for the past three years!! It is SO GOOD! Please let me know if you try it πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Going Vegetarian for Fiesta Friday #18 | The Novice Gardener

  5. Sounds yummy! I like that it’s baked too. Happy birthday hubby!

  6. Happy birthday to Mr. Brook Cook! Looks like a fabulous meal, Josette. And yum with that vanilla bean cheesecake too!

  7. Happy birthday to your mister! And that looks delish!

  8. it looks tasty and i like the sound of creamed spinach as a side dish! Happy Fiesta Friday!
    Simi

  9. This chicken sounds really awesome! Thank you for having this for FF. πŸ™‚

  10. Looks like a delicious meal, your husband has good taste, happy belated b-day to him and thanks for sharing your recipe:)

  11. The whole meal sounds delicious! I had a mustard chicken before but not your version, will give it a try:)

  12. I’m saving this recipe. Mustardy is good, and crispy mustardy chicken sounds even better! Thanks for sharing this with FF!

  13. Sinfully Tempting

    Ooooh I’m definitely going to make this soon. What a wonderful dish! πŸ™‚

  14. The chicken looks so perfectly crispy! Sounds great!

  15. angenette

    Looks good…and I love using YouTube too for all my instruction needs ;). Happy birthday to the husband!

  16. This looks so yummy! Love your blog! I’m not sure if you’re interested, but I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award. Here’s a link to the nomination:
    http://riceandkai.wordpress.com/2014/06/04/the-liebster-award/

  17. Happy Belated Birthday to your husband, Josette! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,051 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
