Strawberry-Graham Scones

IMG_9196

My entire family really enjoys strawberry picking- and eating all of the strawberry-laden goodies that I make when we get home. πŸ™‚ My list of must-have “tried and true” recipes is growing and we need more berries every year! After making pancakes, jam, and cookies, I needed to try one new recipe. This was IT. These scones were fabulous- SO tender and moist. This recipe was adapted from Bon Appetit. My son asked me to make one hundred of them. πŸ™‚ Wonderful!!

IMG_2233

Yield: Makes 10 scones

  • 1ΒΌ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1ΒΌ cups graham flour or whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • ΒΌ cup granulated sugar
  • 10 tablespoons chilled unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 6 ounces strawberries, hulled, cut into 1/2″ pieces (about 1 Β½ cups)
  • 3/4 cup whole milk
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • turbinado sugar, to taste, for sprinkling
  1. Preheat oven to 375Β°. Combine all-purpose flour, graham or pastry flour, baking powder, salt, and ΒΌ cup sugar by pulsing in a food processor or whisking in a bowl.
  2. Add butter and pulse in a food processor, or cut with a pastry blender, until the texture of coarse meal with a few pea-size pieces of butter remaining.
  3. Transfer mixture to a medium bowl, add strawberries, and toss to combine.
  4. Whisk milk and egg yolk in a small bowl or measuring cup. Add milk mixture to dry ingredients, and, using a fork or pastry blender, gently mix just to combine.
  5. Using your hands, gently knead a few times just until a shaggy dough comes together.
  6. Transfer dough to parchment paper and flatten to 1″ in thickness.
  7. Cut into ten 2 1/2-inch rounds using a biscuit cutter, filling any gaps with remaining dough.
  8. Sprinkle scones with turbinado sugar. Chill in freezer 20 minutes (this will help scones hold their shape).
  9. Bake scones until golden brown, 18 minutes (on convection) to 25 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool slightly.

Note: Scones can be made 2 days ahead. Store airtight at room temperature.

IMG_9210

One Year Ago:

IMG_9164

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

15 responses to “Strawberry-Graham Scones

  1. These look scrumptious! I love strawberries and all things with them ❀

  2. skd

    Yummy…. Fresh scones. I am drooling already πŸ˜‹

  3. Josette,
    Loved these. Look so crumbly.

  4. I made blueberry scones today. I can’t wait to try your strawberry ones! πŸ˜€

  5. these look amazing? I’ve always wondered…what exactly is graham flour? When we lived in Aus I couldn’t find graham crackers anywhere so I attempted to find the flour to bake some. No luck. couldn’t find any down under 😦

  6. Wow, scrumptious scones Josette. Am yet to bake some… so scared to start.

  7. Pingback: What I’m Loving this Week | soundZtastee

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,014 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
