Ina Garten’s Vegetable Coleslaw

IMG_9330

One of my good friends absolutely loves this recipe and I have had this coleslaw several times at her house. It is colorful, simple, and delicious. I served it with Slow-Cooker Barbecue Pulled Pork on the Fourth of July this year; it was wonderful in the sandwich or on the side. πŸ™‚ This recipe was adapted from The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook, via foodnetwork.com.

  • 1 pound green cabbage (about 1/2 head)
  • 3/4 pound red cabbage (about 1/2 head)
  • 5 large carrots
  • 2 cups good mayonnaise (I used Trader Joe’s Organic)
  • 1/4 cup Dijon mustard
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cider vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons celery seeds
  • 1 teaspoon celery salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  1. Fit a food processor with the thickest slicing blade. Cut the cabbages into small wedges and place horizontally into the feed tube. Process in batches.
  2. Next, fit the food processor with the grating blade. Cut the carrots in half and place in the feed tube so they are lying on their sides. Process in batches. Mix in a bowl with the sliced cabbages.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together the mayonnaise, mustard, sugar, vinegar, celery seeds, celery salt, salt, and pepper. Pour the dressing over the grated vegetables to moisten them. Serve cold or at room temperature.

One Year Ago:

If you like this you may also like:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

13 responses to “Ina Garten’s Vegetable Coleslaw

  1. I really feel like eating a big spoon of the slaw right now. Looks very yumm! πŸ™‚

  2. Loved it! Will give it a try. My oldest loves coleslaw :).

  3. Very summery! Looks delicious.

  4. errrr…..can you pass me a spoon, please πŸ˜‰ this looks so yummy πŸ™‚

  5. I was looking for some good recipe of coleslaw and this one seems to be great πŸ™‚ I definitely have to try it

  6. This slaw looks delightful, Josette – great job!

    I use honey instead of sugar in my slaw which I find works really well. I also sometimes add thin slices of apple as well for a sweet zing.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,027 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
