Blackberry-Raspberry Hand Pies

IMG_9371

There are pie crust lovers and pie filling lovers. This one is for the crust lovers- like my husband. 🙂 They are cute and pop-tartesque but I prefer lots of filling. I did love their presentation! I changed my dinner-party dessert plans at the last minute and used store-bought crust, but included the crust recipe below. (for next time…) This recipe is from Martha Stewart Living. We ate the leftovers – warm- for breakfast. 🙂

Yield: Makes 8

For the Crust:

  • 1 tablespoon sour cream
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice (from 1 lemon)
  • 2 tablespoons ice water, plus more if necessary
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for rolling
  • 1/2 tsp coarse salt
  • 1 teaspoon granulated sugar
  • 1 stick cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

For the Filling:

  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup fresh blackberries
  • 3/4 cup fresh raspberries
  • 1 tablespoon plus 1 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp coarse salt
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • turbinado sugar, for sprinkling

IMG_9362

  1. To Make the Crust: Whisk together sour cream, lemon juice, and ice water in a bowl. Mix together flour, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1 teaspoon granulated sugar in a large bowl. Add butter and beat with a mixer on medium-low until mixture resembles coarse meal with some blueberry-size clumps remaining. Gradually beat in sour-cream mixture until just combined but still crumbly. (Squeeze a small amount of dough to see if it holds together. Beat in more water, 1 teaspoon at a time, if necessary.) Divide dough in half, gather into 2 flat rectangles, and wrap in plastic wrap. Refrigerate until just firm, 45 minutes.
  2. Roll out each rectangle of dough into a 7-by-14-inch rectangle on a piece of floured parchment with a floured rolling pin. (Dough will be very thin.) Transfer rectangles on parchment to 2 baking sheets and refrigerate until firm, 15 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, make the filling. Stir together berries, 1/3 cup granulated sugar, cornstarch, and 1/4 teaspoon salt in a bowl.
  4. Slide 1 dough rectangle, still on parchment, onto a work surface. With a long side facing you, cut dough crosswise into four 3 1/2-by-7-inch strips.
  5. Mound 2 tablespoons berry mixture in center of bottom half of each strip. Brush edges with egg wash and fold top half over fruit to enclose. Press firmly (I used a fork) to seal and trim bottom edge, leaving folded top edge uncut. Cut vents in each pie and place about 2 inches apart on baking sheet lined with fresh parchment. Transfer to freezer. Repeat with remaining dough and berry mixture. Freeze hand pies until very firm, at least 45 minutes.
  6. Preheat oven to 375 degrees with racks in upper and lower thirds. Lightly brush pies with egg wash and sprinkle with sugar. Bake, rotating sheets and switching racks halfway through, until pies are golden brown, 28 to 30 minutes on convection or up to 40 minutes in a standard oven. Transfer to a wire rack to cool. Serve warm or at room temperature.

One Year Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

20 responses to “Blackberry-Raspberry Hand Pies

  1. Josette, I am sold over these pies :). Saving it. Might make Apple pies with the base. Beautiful looking pies :).

  2. These look so delicious! I think I am more of a filling person, but then, these are so pretty I might just not notice there is less inside. And these would be perfect for a buffet dinner or a pic-nic!

  3. Charlotte

    I think I would like your dinner parties or your left-overs for that matter!

  4. I just love these Josette! They are adorable!

  5. Gosh these look delicious! I love hand pies! 🙂

  6. I am with your hubby on this one as I am also a pie crust lovers. 🙂
    These pies look so yummy and buttery that I wish I have one (or two) right now. 🙂

  7. Josette these beauties are the first thing i saw this morning as i logged in and drooled over the keyboard 😉 these are purrrrrfect !!!! ❤

  8. Absolutely amazing and beautiful! I am pie and raspberry lover! 😀

  9. How cute! It looks so inviting. I love any berries, putting them in a such a cute pie sounds sooooo good to me. Love the idea. Thanks.

  10. oh they look so yummy! I’ve never made hand pies before, but I’ll be giving these a go!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,013 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
