Green Couscous with Arugula

IMG_9413

A few evenings ago, my husband and son were at a swim meet and I was home with my picky-eating daughter. I had tons of beautiful CSA arugula all to myself! πŸ™‚ (It is my favorite!) Initially, I was going to just eat it as a giant salad for dinner, but this seemed much more special. I quadrupled the amount of arugula in this dish. Healthy & delicious- as a vegetarian entree or a side dish. This recipe was adapted from Plenty: Vibrant Vegetable Recipes from London’s Ottolenghi by Yotam Ottolenghi. I am bringing this to share withΒ my arugula loving friends forΒ Fiesta Friday #25Β at the Novice Gardener. Have a great weekend!

Yield: Serves 4

  • 1 cup whole wheat couscous
  • 3/4 cup boiling water or vegetable stock
  • 1 small yellow onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp coarse salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground cumin

For the Herb Paste:

  • 1/3 cup chopped parsley
  • 1 cup chopped cilantro
  • 2 T chopped tarragon
  • 2 T chopped dill
  • 2 T chopped mint
  • 4 T olive oil

To complete the dish:

  • 1/2 cup roasted, salted pistachios, roughly chopped
  • 3 green onions, finely sliced
  • 1 jalapeΓ±o, finely sliced
  • 4-5 cups arugula leaves, roughly chopped
  • 3-4 oz feta cheese, crumbled
  1. Place the couscous in a large bowl and cover with the boiling water or stock. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and leave for 10 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, fry the onion in the olive oil on medium heat until golden and completely soft. Add the salt and cumin and mix well. Leave to cool slightly.
  3. To make the herb paste. Place all the ingredients in a food processor and blitz until smooth.
  4. Add the herb paste to the couscous and mix everything together well with a fork to fluff it up.
  5. Add the cooked onion, pistachios, green onions, jalapeΓ±o, arugula, and feta. Gently mix. Serve at room temperature.

IMG_9418

One Year Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

35 responses to “Green Couscous with Arugula

  1. Thank goodness I planted a lot of arugula this year, so I can try this amazingly vibrant dish! Thanks for sharing at FF25, Josette! πŸ™‚

  2. Wow!! The salad looks so yummm.. Happy FF😊

  3. Arugula has to be my favourite fresh green too, so this dish is a perfect fit for me. I also like the herb paste which I think I will make a big batch of and preserve some of it for later. Our fresh herbs are only available for such a short time and I try and preserve as many as possible and not just by drying. Thanks for bringing this to Fiesta Friday where I know there are a lot of other arugula fans.

  4. Love arugula, and this dish sounds really delicious.

  5. love arugula in here…this sounds so refreshing and healthy…..

  6. luckystaranise

    Great, I was looking for a recipe for a more substantial and crunchy green salad, and here it is! Thanks!

  7. This sounds like a great way to use arugula–so good and healthy!

  8. I went back to the ‘ Google God’ to read up on Arugula πŸ˜€ and that is one crunchy looking salad πŸ™‚ Happy FF !!

  9. Oh wow! Have to try this, would be perfect work lunch too in this heat we’re having in the UK. I love Ottolenghi – used to frequent his cafe for brunch most weekends when I lived in central London, but have never bought one of his cookbooks. This convinces me I should!

  10. skd

    This looks awesome and fresh πŸ™‚

  11. Sue

    Arugula should always be quadrupled! It may be my favorite green and sometimes I even like to sautee or wilt it. I also love the addition of the grain to the salad, it makes it so much better!

  12. I love everything about this! I’ll bookmark it. Love the herb paste AND arugula. (Hope the swim meet went well. We are a family of swimmers here at our house!)

  13. I love arugula and the herb paste is a brilliant addition! Yummy!

  14. Ooh I love this! I love arugula (or rocket as we call it in the UK), I will definitely have to try this one out

  15. Thank you for reminding me of this lovely recipe! Will make it this week since we somehow have an overload of herbs… πŸ™‚

  16. Healthy and delicious!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 998 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
