Pizza with Escarole, Fontina, & Walnuts

IMG_9438

Oh, escarole…. Why does every recipe for escarole involve some sort of white bean soup? I’m sure it is all delicious, but I don’t want to eat that sort of dish in July!

I am usually stumped when I receive a GIGANTIC head of escarole in my farm share. I have sautéed it as a side dish and enjoyed it in Escarole, Feta, & Shrimp Pasta. This recipe was a new application and I really enjoyed it. The greens were wonderful with the fontina. I used my new favorite pizza dough recipe, 24-Hour Pizza Dough, as the base.

This recipe was adapted from The Greens Cookbook: Extraordinary Vegetarian Cuisine from the Celebrated Restaurant by Deborah Madison. It was a fun change for Movie Night Pizza. (This week was Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory!)

If someone has a favorite escarole recipe to share- please let me know…

  • 24-hour pizza dough
  • 1-2 T chopped, roasted walnuts
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 small red onion, diced
  • 5 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 head escarole, washed and cut into 1-inch ribbons
  • coarse salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 T red wine vinegar, or to taste
  • 1-2 pinches red pepper flakes
  • 5 oz Fontina cheese, grated
  1. Prepare the pizza dough. If using 24-Hour pizza dough, remove from refrigerator and bring to room temperature.
  2. Heat 1 1/2 T olive oil in a large skillet, and sauté the onion for 3 to 4 minutes, until it begins to soften.
  3. Stir in the garlic, add the escarole, salt lightly, and cover. Let the escarole cook down for 3 to 4 minutes. Adjust the salt and season to taste with freshly ground black pepper, vinegar, and chili flakes.
  4. Preheat the oven to 500 degrees. If using a pizza stone, warm it for 20-30 minutes.
  5. Shape the dough, place it on a cornmeal-dusted pizza peel, and brush it with olive oil.
  6. Distribute all but a couple of tablespoons of the Fontina cheese over the dough. Cover with the escarole, walnuts, and then the rest of the cheese.
  7. Slide the pizza onto the stone and bake for 8 to 12 minutes, or until the edges are nicely browned.

IMG_9447

One Year Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

13 responses to “Pizza with Escarole, Fontina, & Walnuts

  1. Looks awesome! Printing the recipe now. 🙂

  2. this looks so delicious.. i can never pass up a good pizza. craving a slice now!

  3. Escarole on pizza sounds fabulous! Great idea!

  4. Creative pizza! Love what it looks like!

  5. Liz

    The pizza looks and sounds very delicious. I’ve never added walnuts to pizza but now the next time I make pizza I shall try this version of yours. Thanks so much for sharing

  6. If I call your blog a pizza and pasta magic box, then I won’t be exaggerating. Aweosme!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,023 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
