Grilled Radicchio

IMG_9501

I am not a huge fan of radicchio, but, one of the things I enjoy about my CSA box is that vegetables that I may not have selected are sitting in my fridge waiting to be served! 🙂 This, so far, is the best radicchio I have ever prepared. The grilling process erased all of the bitterness… the balsamic vinegar may have helped too. This recipe was adapted from localfoods.about.com. The radicchio had such a lovely presentation and great color; it really stood out on the plate along with our grilled corn, and roasted zucchini, cippolini onions, broccoli, kohlrabi, fennel, and potatoes. A veggie-loaded meal! 🙂

Yield: 4 servings

  • 1 head radicchio, quartered with stem intact
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • Sea salt
  • 2 tsp balsamic vinegar, or to taste
  1. Preheat the grill. Cut radicchio into quarters. Rub or brush entire radicchio quarters with oil.
  2. Set radicchio with one cut-side down on the grill over moderately-high heat. Cook until edges are well browned, about 4 minutes. Turn to other cut-side and cook until entire radicchio is nicely browned and wilted, about 4 more minutes.
  3. Remove radicchio from grill, sprinkle with sea salt and drizzle with balsamic vinegar. Serve hot, warm, or at room temperature.

One Year Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

10 responses to “Grilled Radicchio

  1. Sue

    Okay, you’ve just prepared one of my all time favorite foods that I could eat massive quantities of: grilled radicchio. I love bitter and yet I don’t like radicchio raw much. Thank you for reminding me to make this . . . TODAY!!!

  2. Haha! I love my CSA, but I find myself in the same predicament! It’s a good problem to have though!! This looks fabulous… And now I’m hoping for radicchio!! ❤️

  3. You have some stupendously easy and delicious recipes to share :).

  4. What a great way to serve radicchio. So beautiful and elegant, Josette!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 998 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
