Easy Blueberry Buttermilk Pancakes

IMG_9526

My husband saw the wonderful photo of these pancakes on My Favourite Pastime and had to have them! 🙂 I loved the easy recipe; I modified it to be half whole wheat and to include tons of blueberries. They were moist and tasty despite using very little oil… and, yes, it’s not the platter, they were blue from the frozen wild blueberries! We ate them with maple syrup- Yum!

  • 75 g white whole wheat flour (about 1/2 cup plus 2 T)
  • 75 g all-purpose flour (about 1/2 cup plus 2 T)
  • 2 T granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1½ cups buttermilk
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 large egg
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup frozen wild blueberries, or fresh blueberries
  1. Whisk the dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt) together in a mixing bowl. Form a well in the center.
  2. Combine buttermilk, olive oil, egg and vanilla in a separate bowl or measuring cup. Whisk to combine.
  3. Pour the buttermilk mixture into the well and mix gently with a wooden spoon (do not over mix otherwise you’ll have tough pancakes-the mixture should look a little lumpy). If the batter looks too thick, add a little buttermilk, 1 teaspoon at a time.
  4. Fold in the blueberries.
  5. Heat a non-stick skillet or griddle on medium heat and grease with cooking oil spray or lightly brush with oil using a silicone brush. Pour batter into the skillet and cook until bubbles form and flip over. (I use a large serving spoon to pour the batter onto the skillet because I prefer to make tons of smaller pancakes.) Cook the other side until golden brown.
  6. Serve with maple syrup, honey, jam or whipped cream.

One Year Ago:

If you like this you may also like:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

8 responses to “Easy Blueberry Buttermilk Pancakes

  1. Love love love whole wheat pancakes. Soft and healthy. Buttermilk does make them light and good. Love it, Josette.

  2. Liz

    Hi thanks for giving it a twist. Next time I want to try this version too. I hope your husband loved them. And I hope they were fluffy too! Have a great Sunday!

  3. I love the blue edges to your pancakes! That’s real blueberry goodness!

  4. I love the addition of blueberries. I bet they were wonderful!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 958 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
