Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins

IMG_9601

My daughter LOVES blueberry muffins- it’s hard to resist making them repeatedly during blueberry season! The blueberries were HUGE and bursting inside of these tasty muffins. This classic recipe was adapted from Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook. I substituted whole wheat pastry flour for half of the all-purpose flour and adjusted the baking times for a convection oven. Turbinado sugar could be sprinkled over the muffin tops prior to baking to add a little crunch. Nice.

Yield: Makes 12 muffins

  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp coarse salt
  • 2 cups fresh blueberries
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used 1 percent)
  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Generously butter or spray a muffin pan with cooking spray; dust with flour, tapping out excess. Set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Working over the bowl, toss the blueberries in a fine sieve with about 1 1/2 tsp of the flour mixture to lightly coat; set aside the flour mixture and the blueberries.
  3. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the butter and sugar on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.
  4. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating until combined. Mix in the vanilla.
  5. With the mixer on low-speed, add the reserved flour mixture, beating until just combined. Add milk, beating until just combined; do not over mix.
  6. Using a rubber spatula, fold in the blueberries.
  7. Divide the batter evenly among the prepared muffin cups.
  8. Bake, rotating the pan halfway through, until the muffins are golden brown and a cake tester inserted in the center of one muffin comes out clean, about 20 to 22 minutes (on convection) or up to 30 minutes in a standard oven.
  9. Transfer the pan to a wire rack to cool 10 minutes. Turn the muffins on their sides and let cool. Serve warm or at room temperature.

One Year Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

11 responses to “Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins

  1. Your daughter is right! I love everything what has blueberries in it, and I will be trying this recipe soon πŸ™‚

    • This is really a classic recipe- I love it because it calls for so many blueberries. I usually sprinkle turbinado sugar over the top of my muffins prior to baking- but this time I skipped it because the muffins already have a fair amount of sugar (& the blueberries were so sweet!). Enjoy!!

  2. Blueberry muffins looks delicious!I love anything Blueberry!

  3. These look so very good!! Am waiting for blueberries to hit my town! πŸ™‚

  4. We love blueberries here too, great recipe!

  5. Your muffins looks delicious! πŸ™‚ I could eat two, maybe three of those. Blueberries are the best, I love them too and bake with them all the time. Everyone in my family loves blueberry muffins, I make them all the time. I was just visiting Cathy’s web site, Words & Herbs, she posted a Blueberry Cake today, check it out;
    http://wordsandherbs.wordpress.com/2014/08/08/blueberry-buttermilk-cake/

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 919 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
