Biscoff Blondies

IMG_9680

So, my buddy said, “Who likes blondies? Why can’t you make brownies like a normal person?” Β I have to put up with such comments in order to eat a delicious dinner at her house… πŸ™‚ Dessert is not the focal point of a meal (in her world…), so I feel compelled to contribute a dessert to her dinner parties. I will have you know that she enjoyed these very much and kept the two leftover blondies to enjoy for breakfast the next morning. She may be a convert! πŸ™‚

These blondies were moist, sweet, and tasty but not as “Biscoffy” as I had expected. We gobbled them up nonetheless!! This recipe was adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction, via Jhuls ofΒ thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com.

Yield: Makes 16 Blondies

  • 1 cup (125g) all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 5 Tablespoons (1/3 cup or 75g) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup (200g) light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup Biscoff spread
  • 1 1/4 cups (225g) semi-sweet chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350F degrees. Line a 8Γ—8 or 9Γ—9 baking pan with parchment paper or spray with nonstick spray. Set aside.
  2. In a medium sized bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, stir the melted butter and brown sugar together until combined.
  4. Whisk in the egg and egg yolk, then add the vanilla. Stir in the cookie spread.
  5. Gently fold the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. Be careful not to overmix, which will result in crumbly, hard blondies. The batter will be very thick. Fold in the chocolate chips.
  6. Spoon the batter into the prepared baking dish. Bake for 20 minutes (on convection) to 25-26 minutes (standard oven). The blondies may appear very soft, but they will set up as they cool. Allow the blondies to cool completely- about 3 hours – before cutting into squares.

Note: Recipe may easily be doubled and baked in a 9Γ—13 pan for approximately 35 minutes. Blondies stay fresh at room temperature for 1 week.

IMG_9655

One Year Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

22 responses to “Biscoff Blondies

  1. jessicanadelson

    I can’t imagine ANYONE being so rude…..I will admit they WERE very good, although definitely catagorized as a breakfast food, not a dessert (which I have no use for!) πŸ˜‰ I took a small bite after dinner, and decided they were quite delicious, and felt I should test them with coffee. Yum!

  2. “Who likes blondies?”

    SACRILEGE! BLASPHEMY! OFF WITH HER HEAD!

    Okay, just kidding (sorta), but these blondies just look wonderful-sign me up for some right about NOW! πŸ™‚

  3. Gotta have dessert! πŸ˜‰ These look super tasty!

  4. M

    blondies? haha great name πŸ™‚

  5. Love these. Have never come across biscoff. What is biscoff spread Josette? I would like to try these.

    • Biscoff is so delicious!! The cookies are Belgian spiced shortbread (such an underwhelming description for something so delicious…) and the spread is made from them. Also called Speculoos spread or cookie butter. Trader Joe’s has a version. A must try!! πŸ™‚

  6. Loving the blondies..what could be a possible replacement for the biscoff spread. Unlikely to get it in my part of the world. Thanks πŸ™‚

  7. Ha ha! Can’t imagine people not liking blondies, especially when they are as good as the ones you make!!

  8. Cate

    Amazing. I just discovered speculoos this summer and thought it would be perfect in a blondie. Google brought me to your page. πŸ™‚ These are so delicious. Thanks for creating this amazing recipe!

    • Yay!! Isn’t the world of love for speculoos amazing? πŸ™‚
      I can’t take credit for this delicious recipe- but I am glad that I was able to share it with you!! Thanks for visiting my blog πŸ™‚ Enjoy!

  9. Lovely, lovely blondies, Josette. And thanks a lot for the mention. πŸ˜‰

  10. Pingback: Speculoos Blondies – thenotsocreativecook

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,024 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
