Herbed Ricotta Pasta with Corn & Zucchini

IMG_9723

Every summer my kids take swimming lessons at our nearby beach on the Long Island Sound. We “have to” go to the beach every afternoon for two weeks. It is so wonderful. It is such a joy in my life! My friends and I relax and enjoy the beach and our kids play for HOURS before and after their lessons. The funny part is that because I am so tired from being so relaxed (?), it is difficult to make dinner when we finally come home!

This quick and easy dish was inspired by my friend talking about her plan to eat TONS of zucchini during an upcoming visit with her Mom. The recipe was adapted from Everyday Food. Perfect after a long afternoon at the beach- a perfect summer dish for Angie’s Fiesta Friday #30 at the Novice Gardener, co-hosted by Margy of La Petite Casserole. Wonderful dishes are shared- it is fun to check it out!

  • 3 medium zucchini, quartered lengthwise and cut into 1/4-inch slices
  • 1-2 T extra-virgin olive oil
  • 3 ears of corn, shucked
  • 1 cup chopped (1-inch pieces) pole beans
  • coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 14 ounces whole wheat farfalle, or other medium-sized pasta
  • 2 T chopped fresh dill, plus more to taste
  • 1/2 cup fresh basil leaves, chiffonade, plus more to taste
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 generous cup of whole milk ricotta cheese
  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees (I use the convection roast setting).
  2. Place chopped zucchini on a large, rimmed baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Toss to coat. Roast at 425 degrees for 10 to 15 minutes, or until lightly browned and tender. Set aside.
  3. Combine the ricotta, Parmesan, herbs, and zucchini in a large bowl. Set aside.
  4. Meanwhile, bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Cook the pasta in the boiling water 3 minutes less that the suggested cooking time. Add the beans and corn and cook together the remaining 3 minutes.
  5. Reserve 1 cup of pasta water. Then drain the pasta, corn, and beans. Cut the kernels off of the corn cobs and add to the ricotta mixture.
  6. Add 1/2 cup of the reserved pasta water to the ricotta mixture. Stir to form a light sauce.
  7. Add the pasta and beans to the sauce and toss to coat. Add more pasta water if necessary to achieve the desired sauce consistency and coverage.

Note: I use any remaining pasta water to add to the leftovers prior to refrigerating; it helps maintain moisture when reheating.

IMG_9765

One Year Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

70 responses to “Herbed Ricotta Pasta with Corn & Zucchini

  1. Lovely combination of flavors. I understand how you feel about being lazy when coming home from a whole day at the beach 🙂 I probably wouldn’t feel like cooking either!

  2. Wow! I am harvesting all these exact veggies from my garden this weekend. This is the perfect recipe!! Thanks for sharing! Happy FF!

    • We have a wonderful farm stand here with AMAZING summer zucchini & corn- I love any dish that incorporates them! 🙂 I put a couple of links at the end of my post to zucchini-corn dishes I made last summer (& re-made this summer- of course!).

  3. skd

    Lovely colors and flavors 🙂

  4. I so appreciate this easy recipe, Josette! I don’t have a lot of time to spend in the kitchen at the moment so easy recipe such as this is really helpful. Plus I have plenty of summer squash from the garden. Thanks, girlfriend! 🙂

  5. i can imagine the flavors from here ……..mmm..m.mm… Happy FF 🙂

  6. Love this simple and tasty salads !

  7. You never fail to amaze me with your pasta creations and of course the “dessert” ones ;)… I know how you feel about the desserts :)))….
    This is classic and elegant!

  8. mmm, sounds yummy! Nothing like vacation to make you need another one, huh? haha

  9. I appreciate everything about this recipe! It’s would make a great meal or side!

  10. This looks like the perfect recipe for one of my baseball bat sized zucchini, Josette! Your pasta creations have yet to fail me and I think this one would warrant success as well. Love the addition of corn [which is at it ‘s peak in my area] and ricotta. The simple prep is sending it to the top of list…thanks for sharing!

  11. Love it! It is quick and easy to make, healthy to boot!

  12. You’ve brought pasta and ricotta to FF this week, how couldn’t like it???? Thanks a lot Josette, hope you’ll have a great we!

  13. That is a gorgeous salad! Pasta and ricotta – loving the sound of it 🙂

  14. This looks amazing! I love how there’s no onion or garlic 🙂 Pinned!

  15. This looks like a wonderful pasta dish-yum!

  16. I need to use ricotta in pasta more often. It provides such a luscious softness and moistness, as well as cheesiness. Fabulous!

  17. wow what a wonderful combos in here…just looks wonderful…happy FF

  18. Mmmmm I love ricotta! And all these lovely flavors….yum!!

  19. Sue

    Josette, another winner from you here. So far I have 6 recipes of yours bookmarked in a special folder . . . I need to get cooking. ! I think this is one that my son would like too, with the ricotta, as he likes the mild flavor of ricotta.

  20. Awesome recipe! I can totally relate to being so tired from being relaxed! 😀

  21. Lovely and easy, my kind of pasta recipe 🙂

  22. You can never have enough tasty pasta recipes. Certainly a staple in our house.
    I’d never heard the name pole beans before. The German translation Stangenbohnen is a literal translation but in the UK they’re called runner beans. Random fact 😉

  23. looks delicious, what a nice meal to come home to:)

  24. i love the combination of zucchini and corn. And the ricotta makes it tastier. Love this recipe!

  25. I too have all these things in my garden. This pasta will almost make itself once I pick all the vegetables.

  26. lovely, summery pasta dish!

  27. Corn and zuchinni my favs:-) looks yummy

  28. Hi Josette, I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award (http://wp.me/p3Nc97-BL). Have a great day!

  29. What an awesome combination! Looks great 🙂

  30. ooh ive saved this looks great 😀 thank you

  31. found you on bloglovin too and followed 😀

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,014 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
