Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

IMG_0030

My kids needed a rock star snack for the first week of school. I had plans to make a Martha Stewart zucchini bread until I saw this recipe on Fiesta Friday. I loved the use of olive oil- and they looked delicious! You are thinking that zucchini bread doesn’t sound like much of a rock star snack- right? But… zucchini-chocolate chip mini-muffins were a perfect (rock star?) snack! πŸ™‚ I am such a muffin fan. πŸ™‚

This recipe was adapted from The Joy of Cooking, via simple pairings.com. I substituted whole wheat flour for half of the all-purpose flour, slightly increased the sugar, and modified the baking time. I made 1 1/2 times the recipe (the amount of zucchini I had on hand) and made 12 standard muffins and 18 mini-muffins. Healthy and delicious! Great!! My kids were pleased. πŸ™‚

Yield: Makes 12 large muffins or 36 mini-muffins

  • 3/4Β cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 T granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups grated zucchini, squeezed of excess moisture
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper liners (important, because these muffins tend to stick.) (or 36 mini-muffin liners)
  2. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon. Set aside.
  3. In a larger bowl, whisk together the granulated sugar, eggs, olive oil, vanilla, and salt. Stir in the dry ingredients. Keep stirring until the mixture is thoroughly blended, being careful not toΒ over-mix.
  4. Add the zucchini and chocolate chips, and stir until well combined. You’ll see the mixture loosen up again, resembling a standard muffin batter.
  5. Divide amongst the lined muffin tin cups. Bake standard muffins for 22 minutes (on convection), up to 30-40 minutes in a conventional oven, or until the tops are golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin tests cleanly; I baked the mini-muffins for 12 minutes on convection. Serve warm, or let cool completely and then store in an air-tight container. The muffins will keep well for a few days.

IMG_0024

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

12 responses to “Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. So glad that these turned out well for you! Such a kid favorite.

  2. M

    yummy! I haven’t tried zucchini bread or muffins yet, but I’ve been seeing it around a lot! I think I might try it out. That surely looks like a rock star snack πŸ˜›

  3. How lucky are your kids? I’m sure they had a super start with these muffins!

  4. Mmmm, we just had some zucchini bread at work, someone brought it in. I love the combination of zucchini with chocolate. Yours look awesome!

  5. The idea of zucchini and chocolate chips totally excited me! Love these!

  6. Josette, the top most picture is selling it fair and hard! What a gorgeous click. Simple, rustic and country. The recipe is pretty straight. I have never baked breads with zucchini. I guess should give it a try.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,024 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
