Almond-Crusted Pork Scallopini with Apples & Arugula

IMG_0127

I rarely get a chance to watch “The Chew”- thankfully for everyone I caught this episode while obsessively cleaning my house before my in-laws came to visit! ๐Ÿ™‚ Mario Batali made this delicious dish before my very eyes and I knew it would be perfect to serve to our guests. It had a wonderful combination of flavors: the spicy wild arugula, almond-crusted pork, and bourbon-flambed tart apples. I adapted the recipe by adding extra garlic and arugula (tons!) and by substituting bourbon forย brandy. Perfect for a special dinner. Delicious!!

I know that I’m super late… but I am going to share this special dish with my blog friends at The Novice Gardener this week for Fiesta Friday #34– Happy Fiesta Friday-Saturday!?!? Enjoy!

  • 1 1/2 to 2 pounds pork tenderloin, 2 tenderloins, cut into medallions and pounded thin
  • 1 1/2 cups almond flour
  • coarse salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • extra-virgin olive oil
  • 4 garlic cloves, sliced
  • 3 tart apples,ย peeled & thinly sliced (I used 2 Granny Smith’s and 1 Pink Lady)
  • freshly grated nutmeg
  • 2 ounces brandy or bourbon
  • 4-8 cups arugula, chopped if leaves are large (I used wild baby arugula)
  1. Season the pork with salt. Place the almond flour in a shallow dish and season with salt and pepper.
  2. Dredge the pork in the almond flour, allowing excess to fall off.
  3. Heat a large pan with 1/4 inch of Olive Oil over medium-low. Place a few coated pieces of pork into the hot oil and cook until golden, then flip and cook until golden on both sides, about 2-3 minutes per side.
  4. Meanwhile, heat a second skillet over medium-high with a few tablespoons of oil. Add the garlic and cook until light golden, and then add the apples. Season with a pinch of salt and freshly grated nutmeg.
  5. Once the apples take on a bit of color, pour in the brandy or bourbon and carefully ignite with a match or long-stick lighter. Cook until the flames subside.
  6. Serve the scallopini over the arugula topped with the apples, with a drizzle of olive oil, if desired.

IMG_0134

One Year Ago:

 

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

22 responses to “Almond-Crusted Pork Scallopini with Apples & Arugula

  1. Pork and apple are a marriage made in heaven. Sounds delicious.

  2. I agree, for some reason pork and apples go so well together, great recipe, thanks for sharing, hugs:)

  3. Pingback: Meals with Mom | Fiesta Friday #34 | The Novice Gardener

  4. This is such a perfect meal for the fall! Just love it! ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Amazing flavours here. I always try to add apples and fruits generally to dishes, especially when it gets to autumn time. and I LOVE love LOVE rocket/arugula – top dish, thanks for sharing!

  6. Arugula is so good with everything, and like you and others said, pork and apples are PERFECT together! Fortunate for everyone indeed that you caught that episode!

  7. I was late to the party too but I’ll have a serving of this please. I’m on an apple and butternut squash kick at the moment. I love Fall.

  8. This recipe looks really good! I love Mario Batali! This dish is perfect for fall ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Looks and sounds delicious and not too late to the party (unlike my comment – shocking co-host behaviour, so my apologies). I am rubbish at cooking pork medallions but maybe flattening and quickly frying is the answer – really fabulous and bookmarked too. Thank you so much for bringing these to the party!

  10. This is a beautiful dish! I am sure your guests were very impressed!

  11. Pingback: Apple Pie | Fiesta Friday #35 | The Novice Gardener

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
