Baked Greek Shrimp with Tomatoes & Feta

IMG_0265

This dish is supposed to transport you to the Greek Isles- we needed an (quick & inexpensive!) escape- maybe that’s why my husband loved it so much! It has a different flavor profile from the dishes I am usually drawn to which made it unique and extra-delicious. It was also a wonderful late-summer dish to make with my beautiful, fresh CSA tomatoes. This recipe was adapted from the New York Times, contributed by David Tanis. We ate it over rice with green salad on the side. Sensational! πŸ™‚

This is the perfect dish to share at Fiesta Friday #35 this week at The Novice Gardener. I am also flattered and honored to share that my contribution to Fiesta Friday #34- Almond-Crusted Pork Scallopini with Apples & Arugula– is featured this week as well!! Wow! Enjoy!! πŸ™‚

Total Time: 45 minutes

Yield: 4 to 6 servings

  • extra-virgin olive oil
  • 3 large shallots, diced, about 1 generous cup
  • 6 large garlic cloves, minced
  • coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 pounds large ripe tomatoes, about 4 large
  • Β½ teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 Β½ pounds large shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 4 ounces Greek feta cheese, crumbled
  • Β½ teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1-2 tablespoons chopped mint
  1. Put 4 tablespoons of olive oil in a wide skillet over medium heat. Add shallots and garlic, season with salt and pepper and cook, stirring, until softened, about 5 to 8 minutes. Lower heat as necessary to keep mixture from browning. Remove from heat while preparing tomatoes.
  2. Fill a saucepan with water and bring to a boil. Add whole tomatoes and cook for about 2 minutes, until skins loosen. Immediately plunge tomatoes in a bowl of cold water to cool, then drain. With a paring knife, core tomatoes and slip off skins. Cut tomatoes into thick wedges.
  3. Heat oven to 400 degrees. Return skillet to stove over medium-high heat. Add tomato wedges and season with salt, pepper and red pepper flakes. Cook, stirring, until mixture is juicy and tomatoes have softened, about 10 minutes. Transfer mixture to a shallow, 13 x 9 baking dish.
  4. Put shrimp in a mixing bowl. Add 1 tablespoon olive oil, season shrimp with salt and pepper, and stir to coat. Arrange shrimp over tomato mixture in one layer. Crumble cheese over surface and sprinkle with oregano.
  5. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes, until tomatoes are bubbling and cheese has browned slightly.
  6. While the dish is baking, prepare the rice according to package directions.
  7. Remove the shrimp and tomatoes from the oven and let the dish rest for 5 minutes. Sprinkle with mint and serve over rice.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

27 responses to “Baked Greek Shrimp with Tomatoes & Feta

  1. Ive stolen this one to my scrapbook to try looks yum and different x

  2. This one is also going into my must tries! Yum!

  3. Congrats on the feature πŸ™‚ Never thought of this combo, what a wonderful idea!

    • Thank you- so thrilled about the feature over here! πŸ™‚
      I don’t know if this dish is truly Greek- or if it’s just the feta/oregano/mint combination- but it was really tasty. πŸ™‚

  4. Yum! I did something similar to this a few weeks back and it was so delicious! Yours is making my mouth water just thinking about it! πŸ˜€

  5. Looks delicious, and I am a huge shrimp fan, so this is right up my alley!

  6. Oregano, mint, feta, all my favorite flavors, I’ve bookmarked this and will probably try it pretty soon. A nice glass of crisp white wine will do the trick don’t you think? :). Thanks for sharing.

    • Of course! Cheers!! The recipe actually says that original Greek dish uses wine or ouzo when sautΓ©ing the tomatoes- but recommends drinking it on the side instead. πŸ™‚ No need to it when using beautiful & fresh tomatoes!

  7. Pingback: Apple Pie | Fiesta Friday #35 | The Novice Gardener

  8. Happy Fiesta Friday Josette! Congratulations on the feature this week… and well deserved!! and wow…this looks so delicious! It’s definitely a dish that if I saw it on a menu somewhere, I would definitely order it. I am printing this up, and cannot wait to give it a try… Thank you so much for sharing. LOVE this. ❀

  9. I love shrimp and this dish looks soo good! I’ll have to get a big serving of it at Fiesta Friday! =)

  10. Congratulations – Greek-style food is perfect when you need a break, and the flavours of your dish really make you feel you’re on a holiday πŸ˜‰

  11. What a combination of flavors – certainly everything I like to eat πŸ™‚ I love my seafood, especially shrimp, and I am always looking for something different. Thanks for making it and sharing it πŸ™‚

  12. Oh this is a wonderful recipe. Love Greek flavors and your shrimp dish sounds fantastic.

  13. wow! Josette, love shrimp and I love the falvors you have going here with the mint and the oregano and the red pepper! I am not a great fan of feta cheese so I may omit that but this dish looks fabulous!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,046 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
